Video is slow at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 18th, 2003, 08:06 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Calif
Posts: 46
Video is slow

I am not a pro videographer but I shot my son's high school graduation
ceremony. Anyway, in Premeire 6.5 (mac) I exported sections of the video,
compressed in Cinepak using 29 1/2 frames I think, did not compress the
audio. I burned the movies with my CD burner. I needed to compress them in
order to get them in the CD. When I compressed them in Premiere I exported
them from the "work area" if that means anything of value.

What I don't understand is that my compressed videos seem to be coming out chunky, by that I mean it starts out fast and then stops, then starts again etc. I have a mac G4 400 meg computer, just bought a new 120 gig harddrive. I have 384 megs of ram. I tried using the 9.2 os system and mac 10.2.6 with the latest Quicktime Player. But still the videos I made are slow and inconsistant. I played them in 6.5 Premiere and still very slow, some parts might be fast but not much. I play other videos like wedding video off the net and they play fine.

Thanks for any ideas.

Bill
Bill Furner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2003, 05:22 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Does this only happen when playing back from a CD or also from
your harddisk? Does this always happen in the same spots on
a movie or does it seem "random"?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2003, 10:20 AM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
I thought Premeire 6.5 was PC only?!
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2003, 11:37 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Calif
Posts: 46
video being slow

To: Rob
"Does this only happen when playing back from a CD or also from
your harddisk?"
Good Question! It happens ony when I play the .mov files I made in Premiere 6.5 (mac). I can play pro movies from hardisk, from internet tutorial movies, wedding movies of pros on the net with no problem. I can play CD movies, they all play fine with no slowness.

"Does this always happen in the same spots on a movie or does it seem "random"?"
It seems random, at any time in the video's that I made for the graduation that I compressed in "Cinepak".

I have raw footage that I made of my son's graduation that didn't display slowness. It seems to happen when I use "Cinepak" compressor.

I used it with a rate of 29 1/2 frames a second, is that kosher?

Thanks for the reply!
Bill
Bill Furner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2003, 11:41 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Calif
Posts: 46
PC only = no it is mac

To: Glen

No, Adobe makes Premiere 6.5 on Mac as well. That is what I have.

Bill
Bill Furner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2003, 01:21 PM   #6
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
The framerate for NTSC video is 29.97 fps, not 29.5. Try exporting
at that framerate first. If that does not fix your problem I suggest
trying something other then Cinepak.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2003, 01:32 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Calif
Posts: 46
frame rate

To: Rob

Ya, I did save it as 29.97. I wrote 29 1/2 in the post by mistake.

Whould I be wise in lowering the frame rate? Maybe using Sorenson?
There is so much movement (crowds moving, speakers), would lowering the frame rate be an unwise decision?

Thanks

Bill
Bill Furner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2003, 01:37 PM   #8
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Any time you change framerates you will introduce choppy-ness
(for the lack of a better word). Looks a bit like a very slow shutter
speed (the stuttering that is).

How large is the specific file (in MB) and how long is it (in seconds
or minutes)?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2003, 03:19 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Calif
Posts: 46
slow video

To: Rob

One is 110.3 mb about 2 1/2 minuets
Anotherone is 491.4 mb about 10 1/2 minuets.

Do you think I should of adusted the shutter speed of the camera?
I didn't do that with my 1 chip Ultura Cannon. I guess the next time I do a video I should be concerned with the shutter speed of my video camera? I've taken videos before and they seemed to be ok, it seems like "Cinepak" may not be theway to go. Maybe I shouldn't change the frame rate?

The original file is 710 x 480, but in the timeline in Clip Properties it show up 360 by 270 that is what I exported it as.
Thanks

Bill
Bill Furner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2003, 09:35 PM   #10
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lakewood Colorado USA
Posts: 150
Try exporting as Sorenson Video (either 2 or 3). For files on a CD it might be wise to shrink it to 320x240 instead of the full 720x480 resolution. Leave it at 29.97 fps. It might be helpful to compress the audio as well. I recommend IMA 4:1... leave it at 16-bit and stereo... also leave it at 48000khz (or 44100 if it is already set for that).

Your quicktime might come out a little dark, so try brightening it up a bit before the compression.
Curtis T. Stoeber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2003, 11:40 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Calif
Posts: 46
slow video

<<<-- Originally posted by Curtis T. Stoeber : Try exporting as Sorenson Video (either 2 or 3). For files on a CD it might be wise to shrink it to 320x240 instead of the full 720x480 resolution. Leave it at 29.97 fps. It might be helpful to compress the audio as well. I recommend IMA 4:1... leave it at 16-bit and stereo... also leave it at 48000khz (or 44100 if it is already set for that).

Your quicktime might come out a little dark, so try brightening it up a bit before the compression. -->>>


To: Curtis

Thanks for the info.

Ya, seems like I will get a better look with Sorenson. For some strange reason the movies play at fair speed now. Sorry to go back and forth on this , I just am at loss on why for no reason it plays regular now in the Qucktime Player and Premiere Monitor.

But your informations really seems right on. And thanks again for the info.
Thanks for that tip on the audio as well, I was a bit overwhelmed with the choices on audio in Premiere so I choose none for compression.

One question I was wondering because I couldn't find it anywere in my camera's manuel. What is the precise size of the video coming out of the camera? I know I mentioned 710 by 480 but I am not sure. Would it display in Premiere when I capture? I think a frame size shows up, I just am not sure if Premiere defaults to a certain size or if the capture in premiere really picks up the true frame size of the camcorder video coming into Premiere?
Bill Furner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2003, 04:09 AM   #12
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lakewood Colorado USA
Posts: 150
If you are using MiniDV then the resolution is 720x480 (horizontal x vertical) coming out of your cameras. ALL MiniDV cameras shoot at this resolution (if you live in the States... European versions are slightly higher res, but slower framerate).

Glad the advice helped.
Curtis T. Stoeber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2003, 11:00 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Calif
Posts: 46
<<<-- Originally posted by Curtis T. Stoeber : If you are using MiniDV then the resolution is 720x480 (horizontal x vertical) coming out of your cameras. ALL MiniDV cameras shoot at this resolution (if you live in the States... European versions are slightly higher res, but slower framerate).

Glad the advice helped. -->>>

Thanks


Bill
Bill Furner is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network