24 fps-to-30 fps slow-mo at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 10th, 2008, 05:32 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wellington, CO
Posts: 26
24 fps-to-30 fps slow-mo

I decided to shoot some footage in 1080/30p thinking I could plop it into a 24p timeline and get a "slight" slow-down of motion. The audio is not a factor. Unfortunately, for the life of me, I can't figure out how to do it in FCP 6 nor have any web searches yielded the answer. The footage is XDCAM EX.

I guess basically what I want to do is trash the 30 fps timecode and remap all the frames to 24 fps. So if I have 10 second clip @ 30 fps (300 frames), I'd like to utilize all 300 frames in a 24 fps timeline, which would make the clip 12.5 seconds. Instead, FCP keeps the time length the same and just drops frames, which looks like crap. I've tried fussing with all the project, sequence, and user settings I can find, but none seem to change the way FCP places clips on a track.

Please help, I'm hoping it's pretty simple and doesn't require special Motion filtering. Even if I were to use Motion to enlongate the clip, I'm betting the FCP would send the frame-dropped version instead of the original, which wouldn't help.
Justin VanAlstyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2008, 06:13 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Goleta, CA
Posts: 299
I would recommend going to tape and just capturing it at 24p. I know I have had the same problem when someone came in with 30p clips and wanted to drop them into a 24p timeline in Avid.
James Brill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2008, 06:30 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 628
This can be done in Shake (or AE). Just take your footage with a "File In" Node and double click parameters 1 > Timing - Then Remap. Use a calculator to figure out the difference in fames and enter in drop down. Render out at any resolution / codec. This is similar in AE, although I am less familiar.

This effect is also very easy to do "in camera" with the HVX-200 and EX1/3.

Hope this helps,
-C
Christopher Drews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2008, 07:30 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
You've actually "overcranked" for slow-motion just the way you would if you were shooting on a film camera.
Cinema tools can do exactly what you need instantly. Just open Cinema Tools and use the "Conform" command to conform the frame rate of the quicktime file to 23.98 fps. That's it. Easy Peasy! This will work with any codec other than HDV or AVC. There is also a Batch Conform option.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2008, 10:39 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Goleta, CA
Posts: 299
Ya I didn't even think about cinema tools. One of FCP's best attributes I think.
James Brill is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:49 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network