A RGB-Contrast-Plugin - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 21st, 2008, 10:15 PM   #16
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Thanks, Andy. I stand (somewhat) corrected...
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2008, 04:46 AM   #17
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 24
Dominik,

Am I missing something? When I extract the zip file I get a folder called "DominiksContrast.fxplug" (rather than the plugin file expected). I've dropped it into my home directory fcp plugin's folder, but can't find it in the effects tab.
I'm on fcp 6.0.5
Alnoor Dewshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2008, 09:34 AM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 645
you might have dropped it in the wrong plugins folder Alnoor, FxPlugs live in the /Library/Plug-ins/FxPlug folder or the ~/Library/Plug-ins/FxPlug folder
Andy Mees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2008, 09:49 AM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 616
I have Final Cut 5.0.4, and dragging DominiksContrast.fxplug to my Fxplug folder doesn't work. I thought Someone on this thread said it works with 5, but I guess it starts at 5.1 -I didn't know that existed, why would apple upgrade .1 and not allow me to upgrade?
Too bad, I bring my footage into after effects just to use it's levels sometimes, this would have been perfect.
Aric Mannion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2008, 10:23 AM   #20
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 24
Andy,

Thanks for the clarification, but it still doesn't work...

I had erroneously put it in ~/Library/Preferences/Final Cut Pro User Data/Plugins with my other plug-ins, and have since tried both suggested locations, but it doesn't show in the effects list when I search for FxPlug filters.

Have double checked spellings...

The only FxPlug folder I found on my system was Library/Application Support/ProApps/Internal Plug-Ins/FxPlug, and it doesn't work in that either.

Are you using it with fcp 6? Which Effects bin does it live in? I'm expecting it to be named or described DominiksContrast.

Ta,
Alnoor
Alnoor Dewshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2008, 07:12 AM   #21
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alnoor Dewshi View Post
The only FxPlug folder I found on my system was Library/Application Support/ProApps/Internal Plug-Ins/FxPlug, and it doesn't work in that either.
It must be Library/Plug-Ins/FxPlug/
If it doesn't exists, you have to create it.
I mentioned that already in the start of this thread.
(Of course, if there's no "Plug-Ins"-folder in that place, you have to create that, too.)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alnoor Dewshi View Post
I'm expecting it to be named or described DominiksContrast.
Correct.
Dominik Seibold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2008, 07:36 AM   #22
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 24
Dominik,

I've tried putting it in Library/Plug-Ins/FxPlug/ but it doesn't show !!!

I'm really puzzled why. Other FxPlug filters work fine on my system (fcp6.0.5/OSX10.4.11/PowerbookG4)

Last edited by Alnoor Dewshi; November 24th, 2008 at 08:19 AM.
Alnoor Dewshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2008, 08:14 AM   #23
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alnoor Dewshi View Post
I've tried putting it in Library/Plug-Ins/FxPlug/ but it doesn't show !!!
I don't know, what's going wrong, but in FCPs effects-menu there's an option called "show preferred effects only". Perhaps turning that off helps. Another issue could be absent read/execute-permissions of the plugin-directory and its inner files.
Dominik Seibold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2008, 08:20 AM   #24
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 24
Thanks,
will try repairing permissions...
Alnoor Dewshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2008, 09:43 AM   #25
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alnoor Dewshi View Post
Thanks,
will try repairing permissions...
I don't think that the repairing-permissions-operation of the harddisk-utility will help.
I thought about manually set them in Terminal like this:

chmod -R 755 /Library/Plug-Ins/FxPlug/DominiksContrast.fxplug
Dominik Seibold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2008, 12:42 PM   #26
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
Wow, thanks Dominik! It's very nice "levels like" plug-in! This is something I was missing so much coming from Vegas. Glad you took the time to do it. It's one of those quick little corrections I always like to add to make the video pop. Much easier with your plug-in.
__________________
"Ultimately, the most extraordinary thing, in a frame, is a human being." - Martin Scorsese
Michael Wisniewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 07:18 AM   #27
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 24
Dominik,

I've tried your repair suggestion, but still no luck.
Curiously I glimpsed the name of the filter loading up on the splash screen at start up, but it doesn't show in my effects. ("Show All" pref is selected, as suggested).

Maybe I've got a cranky system, as I've just upgraded from fcp5... Will try an complete uninstall & clean install of 6.

Many thanks,
Alnoor Dewshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2008, 10:03 AM   #28
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominik Seibold View Post
I don't know, what's going wrong, but in FCPs effects-menu there's an option called "show preferred effects only". Perhaps turning that off helps. Another issue could be absent read/execute-permissions of the plugin-directory and its inner files.
Tried these fixes, your folder is in the requested location (with other fxplugs that are working on my system) and I still don't see your fxplug under filters.

I'm on osx10.4.11/qt 7.5.5/fcp 6.0.5 G5 DP2.0

Suggestions?
George Strother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2008, 08:47 PM   #29
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 233
was very excited about this seeing the effects on my monitors, but when I render the filter out, FC crash...
OS 10.5.x
Fcs2
8-core mp
__________________
always learning
www.phillippalacios.com
Phillip Palacios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2009, 11:51 PM   #30
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Crested Butte, CO
Posts: 568
OK, Dominik,
I'm a little slow. I finally installed your plug and it works great.

Here's the link for the 6-way color corrector. For example, I'd like to reduce just yellow a bit on a clip. This plug-in can do it.

See if you can get the idea from here: AAV ColorLab


thanks again.
__________________
Scott
Shot-By-Scott
Scott Brickert is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:10 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network