Strange Issue Involving No Picture at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 29th, 2009, 09:19 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 26
Strange Issue Involving No Picture

ok!

so i'm cutting together a feature length film and everything has been going more or less, swimmingly.
i bring all of my scenes into a master timeline and one particular scene simply doesn't display anything.
It's been renderd so i'm not getting the 'unrederd' blue screen.

Quite simply, the squence plays just fine when it's all by itself, but when it's brought into this master timeline, it only displays the first shot and then crossfades to black (where it should crossfade to another shot)
Once the scene is over, it displays again normally.
Luca Furgiuele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2009, 11:15 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Has the Alpha mode for that one scene been accidentally changed?
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2009, 11:32 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 26
beleive it or not... i re-nestled the scene into the master timeline and now works.

i've no idea what the problem was but it has apparently fixed itself.
Luca Furgiuele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2009, 08:56 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
I'm finding that FCP 6 tends to "forget" render files and get confused and use "obsolete" renders often, requiring BIZARRE intervention. The software is becoming more problematic with every major iteration, from a "I just want it to work" position.

For example, I've colour corrected two clips and put a cross dissolve between them. Later I've removed the cross dissolve and replaced the first clip. Upon playback, FCP still thinks there is a cross dissolve on the first bit of the second clip.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network