Final Cut Playback Quality at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 10th, 2003, 07:02 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: istanbul turkey
Posts: 7
Final Cut Playback Quality

Hi,

When you set:
System Settings/Playback Control/Playback/Video Quality to "Medium" the manual states that the video is output at quarter frame resolution.

What exactly is quarter frame resolution and what is the difference of the medium setting with high setting?

I am using DV-PAL material and the FCP output is recorded back at DV for TV broadcast.

Thanks.
Hakki Goceoglu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2003, 09:04 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
This setting only affects how the video looks in the canvas and viewer on your computer screen, it will not affect that actual DV sent through firewire. So if you are using an external monitor via firewire (connected to your camera, for example) there won't be any difference. I guess the setting exists so that slower computers can "keep up"... it may affect which realtime effects you see. Try setting it both ways and see if there is any difference.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2003, 02:41 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
I am getting movement stutter in the viewer when playing back my clips out of the browser. Just like i have when an external monitor is connected through firewire(camera) Canvas plays everything at full speed and no stuttering. I guess I was thinking it was the above mentioned system settings. But setting to high quality has no effect on my playback capablities. Any suggestions??
(fcp4 on a single 1.25 processor g4)
__________________
D.Slingerland

director/cameraman

http://www.slingerlandproductions.nl
David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2003, 04:49 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
I just figured out that playback in the viewer is bad but when connected to external monitor I see no movement at all.it is just a still frame, it catches up the moment i stop playback in viewer. But when played in timeline there is no stutter and playback in external monitor is excellent... I cant figure it out!!!
help needed...
__________________
D.Slingerland

director/cameraman

http://www.slingerlandproductions.nl
David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2003, 04:57 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
figured it out!!

before anybody could answer I can give it myself...I had the size of the viewer on 100% instead of fit to window!! Now everything plays back just as it supposed to do..
__________________
D.Slingerland

director/cameraman

http://www.slingerlandproductions.nl
David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2003, 03:02 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
That's interesting since you're on FCP4. I'm still using FCP3, but it also has a bug, er, I mean "feature", where bad things happen if you don't set "fit to window". It can stop your video from playing on the external monitor completely. The other thing that occasionally gets me is that if I leave the Log and Capture window open external video won't play. Sometimes this isn't so obvious if another window is covering up Log and Capture...
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2003, 03:32 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
your right I remember now, well that is on "feature" that has not changed in fcp4.. It did stop playing completely on the external monitor.
__________________
D.Slingerland

director/cameraman

http://www.slingerlandproductions.nl
David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2003, 10:07 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 540
Common problems -- the main idea here is to have the computer work on only what's needed. Make sure no windows are overlapping, no capture window open, turn-off video playback in the canvas, mixdown all audio, turn off all overlays & waveforms, etc. I also do a shift-Z so the entire timeline is on one screen.

Also, insure that your MAC energy settings are correct, and auto updates are off.

Lots of things can interfer -- keep it simple.
__________________
-- Vic Owen --
Vic Owen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:35 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network