The NEW Final Cut Studio announced today! - Page 6 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 25th, 2009, 10:08 AM   #76
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Boyd,

Maybe not--I'm guessing Apple wants to save money on printing manuals and packaging. They're probably also depending on Diane Weyland's and others' books to help out.

Heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2009, 10:12 AM   #77
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 645
No hardcopy manuals period, as far as I can tell.
Also no PDF I believe, just a Apple Help Viewer version ... and the online docs of course:
Final Cut Pro 7 User Manual
Andy Mees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2009, 10:22 AM   #78
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Liebergot View Post
Do you have to do a full uninstall of FCS2 before installing the new version. Or will the new version simply install and overwrite over the old version?
It overwrites, but you should deinstall FCS before doing a new full install. Otherwise, you may have some problems with Apple Qmaster & Compressor ("Qmaster's file not found" when launching a compression through Qmaster). That's what happened to me and to a lot of guys (Have a look on Google).
__________________
http://www.songesdemoai.com/
Ronan Fournier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2009, 11:16 AM   #79
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 66
Wow, I see the academic version is priced at $899.00. FCS2 academic was priced at $549.00. Seems silly to pay $899.00 and not get any upgrades. Not sure about their new pricing model.
Scott Balkum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2009, 02:08 PM   #80
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Penetrante View Post
Project based scratch disks. C'mon, Apple!
Absolutely. This would save so much time in my workflow when starting to work on projects. I spend too much time forgetting to reset my scratch, then having to re-render once I've figured it out and work at getting rid of unwanted renders in other projects... PITA! And if I import anything during that time...eeks!
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2009, 02:53 PM   #81
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Penetrante View Post
Project based scratch disks. C'mon, Apple!
Agreed.

But a while back, I considered getting an Apple accreditation. It turns out that our standard way of working - ensuring the scratch disk is assigned per project - was not just a no-no, it was cause to not award an 'Apple Certified' whatnot. Thus, the certification didn't seem worth bothering with.

The Apple team were adamant about this. So I wonder if this will ever be fixed.
__________________
Director/Editor - MDMA Ltd: Write, Shoot, Edit, Publish - mattdavis.pro
EX1 x2, C100 --> FCPX & PPro6
Matt Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2009, 06:03 PM   #82
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Smithfield, Pennsylvania
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christopher Drews View Post
Nigel - Mine came in a small box (like the size of 4 compact disc cases). There is a partition with 1 package contain the license, the FCP 7 Booklet (truncated) and the legal documents. The other partition contains the DVD's. The documentation is indeed electronic and Apple must have saved a bundle on creating these books- It's greener but I do miss them.

-C
That's exactly what I got from the Apple retail store this afternoon. You have to ask them for the upgrade version. Inside the sleeve is a very nice sturdy cardboard box, and the discs and docs inside that are in those fold out cardboard boxes they've been using for the last couple of years. The manual is electronic, and there's a brief introductory manual for FCP (doesn't touch on any of the other apps.
Jason Lowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2009, 06:46 PM   #83
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Does that mean full versions have the manuals?

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2009, 09:43 PM   #84
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Daviss View Post
Agreed.

But a while back, I considered getting an Apple accreditation. It turns out that our standard way of working - ensuring the scratch disk is assigned per project - was not just a no-no, it was cause to not award an 'Apple Certified' whatnot. Thus, the certification didn't seem worth bothering with.

The Apple team were adamant about this. So I wonder if this will ever be fixed.
Have they ever worked with multiple projects at the same time? and tons of removveable hardware for backup? Illogical!
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2009, 04:34 AM   #85
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron Fowler View Post
The specs say to run Color you need a "Display with 1680-by-1050 resolution or higher" which would mean that I can't run it on my MacBook Pro 15" which really sucks...

I'm still running Tiger so I think I'll wait for Snow Leopard's release and upgrade everything at once.
That spec for Color is if you only have one screen. If you have a second display to connect to use with the scopes and preview then it should work for you just fine.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2009, 10:25 AM   #86
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Belgium | Europe
Posts: 441
Is LiveType still included in FCS3?
Ivan Snoeckx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2009, 11:29 AM   #87
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronan Fournier View Post
It overwrites, but you should deinstall FCS before doing a new full install. Otherwise, you may have some problems with Apple Qmaster & Compressor ("Qmaster's file not found" when launching a compression through Qmaster). That's what happened to me and to a lot of guys (Have a look on Google).
Ronan, thanks for the info.
I was planning to uninstall FCS2 using FCS Remover.
One question on installing the FCS3 upgrade...

Does the upgrade come with a new serial number or do I simply use the serial number that came with FCS2?

I only ask because with some software such as Adobe Suite, the upgrade installer looks for a previous install of the Adobe software.

If FCS3 looks for a previous install of FCS2, and it's been removed from my system before I install FCS3 then there could be install issues. Just checking...

Thanks again for the insight.
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2009, 12:08 PM   #88
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
In the distant pass, you would keep the previous version on your system and the discs would just upgrade it. For the last few years, the upgrade is actually a full version of the software, and you should just uninstall the old version of Final Cut Studio.

Heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2009, 04:18 PM   #89
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 260
Hmmm...

Still no firewire support for Color.

Still no funds available to provide accurate display of color grading.

Still completely winging my color correction.

Still can't figure out why Apple won't add this simple feature for those of us who aren't made of money/shooting exclusively in HD.

Pass.
__________________
Reel Impressions Media - Make it more than a memory
GY-HD100- 7D- PSC Promix 3- Lectro/Sennheiser- Zoom H4- MPB- CS6/CC
Christopher Glavan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2009, 06:11 PM   #90
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Christopher,

I recommend one of the MXO boxes:

Scan Converter - Output and Monitoring Device - Matrox MXO

It works with Color 1.0 just fine. However, check this out:

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1151

Heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network