Lumiere HD workflow - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 13th, 2004, 07:50 PM   #31
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stony Brook NY
Posts: 169
Dave Cox was able to export from Pixlet to 1080i using HDVerter
(do a search on this forum). I've heard great things about lumiere however, so if this is able to do 1080i I would suggest trying that instead.
Paul St. Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2004, 08:11 AM   #32
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ
Posts: 437
Dustin,

The next version of Lumiere HD will allow you to output 1080i TS to DVHS decks and the new Sony FX1.

I think the DVHS approach with a good HD resolution projector is a great way to show your film.

Best,

Frederic
Frederic Lumiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2004, 10:47 AM   #33
RED Problem Solver
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,365
I'd advise not to use Pixlet as a codec choice. PhotoJPEG100% is a more efficient and better looking codec, that uses less processor too, and is 4:4:4.

Graeme
Graeme Nattress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2004, 05:18 PM   #34
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ
Posts: 437
Dustin,

The next version of Lumiere HD should also support the VC SR-VD400US DVHS deck.

Mahalo Nui Loa

Frederic
Frederic Lumiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2004, 09:21 PM   #35
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ
Posts: 437
Sony HDV support now available in Lumiere HD

A beta of Lumiere HD with support for the Sony HDV cameras was just released and is available to all Lumiere HD customers.

This new version also supports SD HDV mode in the JVC cameras and the GR-PD1 sold in Europe.

It does not allow for output back to the Sony HDV devices yet.

Lumiere HD includes:

• Capture from following HDV devices:

- JVC JY-HD10U (720p30, HDV SD)
- JVC GR-HD1 (720p30, HDV SD)
- JVC GR-PD1 (HDV SD50p)
- JVC CU-VH1(720p30, HDV SD)
- SONY HDR-FX1(1080i60)
- SONY HDR-FX1(E) (1080i50)
- SONY HVR-Z1 (1080i/60/50)

• Converts the captured HDV clips into QuickTime friendly HD MPEG-2 video format (online), via batch processing

• Offers editors their codec of choice (DV, DVCPRO HD, etc.) to edit in Final Cut Pro's timeline, with all of the real-time benefits -- such as transitions, FX, and composites, without rendering. Also provides real-time playing and NTSC monitoring in DV.

• Automates the complete migration of captured HDV footage into Final Cut Pro, including:

- Generating XML File
- Importing clips
- Anamorphic (16:9) setting
- Merging of audio & video
- Online process optimization

• Encodes HD output from Final Cut Pro into HDV MPEG-2 Transport Stream and transfers back to HDV cameras and decks. This step (HDV Print to Tape) is not yet supported for the Sony HDV cameras.
Frederic Lumiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2004, 10:26 PM   #36
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NEW YORK,NY
Posts: 5
Lumiere HD Beta version 1.5b6 now available!Beta version 1.5b6 now available!

I noticed on the Lumiere HD Site that Lumiere HD Beta version 1.5b6 is now available! Which includes support for SONY HDR-FX1
CHEERS,
Andy
Andy del Barco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2004, 09:14 PM   #37
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
www.lumierehd.com

I'm gonna test it soon, Frederic! Just busy!

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2004, 02:40 PM   #38
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Frederic,

Can your product encode 1080i content that was captured from HDCAM uncompressed and output a regulart Transport Stream to disk for broadcast use? Also, does the Beta release support the output to the JVC HMDH40000U and or the JVC SR-VD400US. If so can it output 1080i?
Have client that needs this by tuesday.

Dave Cox
Dave Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2004, 02:50 PM   #39
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 11
... Lumière vs mpeg streamclip

I was experiencing wierd artefacts in transfering from mpegstreamclip. Like dv drops but worse >(hdv drops!)
I looked and looked for other demuxing solutions for the mac.
Finally I bought lumière. And everything seems to run smoothly regardless of enormous transfering time - at least the artefacts are not on my images anymore.
This is footage from the HDR-FX1 usa. (1080i 60i)
I hate the fact that apple will come out with an upgrade for fcphd and lumière will soon be outdated... but my projects are due yesterday, so I had no alternatives. At least none that I could find.

- dOM
Dom Dzip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2004, 09:56 AM   #40
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ
Posts: 437
<<<-- Originally posted by Dave Cox : Frederic,

Can your product encode 1080i content that was captured from HDCAM uncompressed and output a regulart Transport Stream to disk for broadcast use? Also, does the Beta release support the output to the JVC HMDH40000U and or the JVC SR-VD400US. If so can it output 1080i?
Have client that needs this by tuesday.

Dave Cox -->>>

Dave,

Yes, Lumiere HD does encode 1080i TS 25 Mbps. It doesn't officially support the 40K decks however but compatibility with these decks will come very soon.

Frederic
Frederic Lumiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2004, 10:05 AM   #41
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ
Posts: 437
Lumiere HD Technical Support Requirements

Technical Support for Lumiere HD is provided online via our forum at:

http://www.lumierehd.com/forums/

There are only two simple requirements to receive technical support:

1. You must use your real First and Last name as your username when registering on our forum. (example: John Smith)

2. You must enter your Serial Number in the appropriate field when registering.

This is the most efficient and affordable way for us to offer technical support.
We have multiple technicians, including developers, in multiple time zones answering questions on the forum.

A quick search through the forum database will give an answer within seconds... 90% of the time.

Best,

Frederic
Frederic Lumiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2004, 11:01 PM   #42
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 15
Lumiere take Dv project and online HDV?

I've been through the quicktime tutorials and read lots of posts, so I have an understand how LumiereHD basically works.
It's a good HDV solution for Mac and I'm thinking of purchasing.

However I was wondering if the software can help me with this.

I have cut together a short video by shooting HDV with the FX1, and then importing the footage as DV via the camera's own downconversion.

I would now like to have a HDV version of this clip (should have thought of this earlier eh?).

Is there a way of using LumiereHD that I can now online to HDV?

Not having used the program I'm unsure if LumiereHD generates it's own timecode or what?

Thanks in advance.

best wishes

PS - Merry Christmas - the video I'm referring to is at
wes.customer.netspace.net.au
Wes Greene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2004, 07:13 AM   #43
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 611
No, to use Lumiere, you needed to capture the footage as HDV m2t files, and then use Lumiere's transcoding functions to convert the m2t files to hi def m2vs (for online) and DV movs(for offline) with aiff sound (used by both online and offline versions).

Lumiere does not deal with HDV timecode at all, so has no reference to your original shots on the tape, it uses FCP's media management to replace the DV movs with the HDV m2v files from the hard drive.

I'm afraid if you want HDV online you'll have to start again.
__________________
Shorts::Cut - www.shortscut.org.uk
The Short Film Festival for Portsmouth & Southsea.
Dylan Pank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2004, 01:49 PM   #44
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 15
ah ha

thought this might be the case but was hoping otherwise - yu never know yu luck!

thanks
Wes Greene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2004, 11:05 AM   #45
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Help with FX1 and Lumiere HD 1.5b8!

After doing my transport stream in DVCPro HD 1080i60 (which made it 1280x1080), I imported my XML file, only to discover that it's offline. It finds the AIFF file okay, but when it tries to find the video file, it says:

"File "part 1.mov" does not have proper content to reconnect to clip in sequence "part 1 mov". Click "OK" to make this item independent and go to the next clip or "Cancel" to skip all clips from this file."

HELP!

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:42 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network