Lumiere HD workflow - Page 4 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 31st, 2004, 03:13 PM   #46
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
One more problem, when importing the XML file, it gives me "non-critical errors" saying it can't "attach" the media file to the clip.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2005, 02:46 PM   #47
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ
Posts: 437
Heath,

It's all resolved right?

Frederic
Frederic Lumiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2005, 02:54 PM   #48
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Yes. My mistake was calling the original captured M2T clips:

Amanda Wide Shot

Instead of the proper:

Amanda_Wide_shot

Frederic, can you re-explain how to keep things from going out of sync, audio/video-wise?

Also, everyone, I am creating my MOV files as DV 720 by 480, because I know that in the coming weeks, I'll be able to "online" my cut into 1080i HDV and output to tape with the FX1.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2005, 02:53 PM   #49
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Need new help with the 1.5b beta!

I can email whomever can answer this a still from footage captured, demuxed and made into a timeline codec using the 1.5b8 beta of LHD, and a still captured on Final Cut Pro 2 from a digital downconvert via firewire to a DVX100A.

When I did the codec, I chose DV 720 by 480. When I made a still image from my edit in FCP HD, the image is darker and not as clear as the still my friend made in FCP 2 with the digital downconvert (720 by 480).

Is there something wrong with the initial capture, demux or timeline codec processes? I also notice a new beta (1.5b9)--should I try re-capturing that way, or going through the other processes with the new beta?

Again, I'll email those stills to whomever can answer this question!

Thanks,

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2005, 05:37 AM   #50
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Well it's called a beta for a reason. So this might be a bug. I would
certainly try a newer beta. I assume the beta comes with instructions
on who to contact if you find problems, follow those guidelines.
The developers needs feedback on such issues!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2005, 10:54 AM   #51
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 842
Question about offline DV editing.

How would graphics work in a DV offline setup?

Wouldn't anything created (either in Motion or Livetype or FCP itself) be the wrong resolution when you online HD?

I'm still learning the process here, so I might be missing something obvious.

Thanks!
Bryan McCullough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2005, 04:17 AM   #52
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I'd say you create the online versions for these and downsample
them to your offline resolution for use there. At least that would
be my guess. All original material should be available in the full
online quality. But what do I know...
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2005, 08:57 AM   #53
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Indy
Posts: 160
That's an interesting question Bryan.

I think if I were gonna do a project like that I would:

1. Create full res HD graphic elements
2. Make copies of elements-add "ol" to the name
3. Resize the copies to fit DV resolution aspect ratio
4. Do offline
5. Before online, rename the original elements and add "ol" to name
6. Online

There are a lot of opportunity for strangeness here, and I think it would only work quick and easily if the DV project is 16x9. I would make sure to do a couple of quick tests first, before I finalized the workflow.

Good Luck!
Sean M Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2005, 04:49 PM   #54
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Indy
Posts: 160
Lumiere...is it worth the workflow?

So, you folks using it, is it worth the time and effort?
Can I expect Z1/M10 output capability soon?

Is the process really as long as it seems like it will be?
Sean M Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2005, 10:00 PM   #55
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ
Posts: 437
New Lumiere HD Beta now allows back to Sony Tape

The new beta version of Lumiere HD (Version 1.5b10) now allows encoding of MPEG2 Transport Stream compatible with the new Sony HDV devices, including:

- SONY HDR-FX1(1080i60)
- SONY HDR-FX1(E) (1080i50)
- SONY HVR-Z1 (1080i50/60)
- SONY HVR-M10U (1080i50/60)

Lumiere HD can take any 1440 X 1080, 60i clip (Any codec) and encode it to an MPEG2 transport stream the Sony cameras and deck can receive.

Customers can download the new beta, free of charge from:

http://www.lumierehd.com/beta_download.php

Frederic
Frederic Lumiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2005, 06:38 AM   #56
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,707
Hi Frederic, I have a valid 1.2 version of Lumiere HD....but, I can't seem to get the betas working. I've tried to activate using the latest number I recieved.

I'm a Z1U owner, so I could be of help with testing it.
__________________
Christopher C. Murphy
Director, Producer, Writer
Christopher C. Murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2005, 07:57 AM   #57
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ
Posts: 437
Christopher Murhy? Never heard of you...sorry

Just kidding Murph. Send me an email with your S/N

Frederic
Frederic Lumiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2005, 08:03 PM   #58
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
I believe you already can.

hwm
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2005, 12:02 AM   #59
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North Hollywood
Posts: 1
Need Help With Lumiere/Laying To Tape

I have Lumiere (yes, the new version), but it converted everything out of sync. No matter how hard I tried to sync the audio, it still drifted. I gave up and purchased FC Express.

Now that I have my project completed (2 hour feature), I need to get it to tape. I need my HDV 16:9 footage resized to 4:3/letterbox and recorded to DV Cam tape.

FC Express has no option for 4:3. FC Pro does. I have output 1 min. test clips to DV Cam and they look "ghost-like" on the sped up motion clips and the regular clips look pixilated (almost like a posterized effect). Any suggestions/solutions?

I used FC PRO to output these test clips. Since Lumiere doesn't have very good instructions, I can't figure out how to lay to tape once I have made an mt2 conversion. Also, is that conversion oly for laying back to HDV or can I lay to DV Cam using Lumiere?

HELP!
__________________
Lori
Lori Peters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2005, 04:34 PM   #60
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 704
LumiereHD to Handle JVC's 24P ProHD format

Interesting little tidbit for those interested in the 24P function of the new JVC cam.

Check out Mike's great site, HD for Indies


Scroll a little down the page, it's a few articles down.
the headline reads:

"LumiereHD to Handle JVC's 24P ProHD format"
__________________
Luis Caffesse
Pitch Productions
Austin, Texas
Luis Caffesse is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:26 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network