More RAM? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 8th, 2004, 06:53 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, California
Posts: 745
More RAM?

Hello.

I just recieved a dual 2ghz G5 from Apple and am pretty excited.
I had them install two 250gb internal drives
BUT
I failed to order more than the basic 512mb of RAM.
Am I seriously impaired?
I have a lot of capturing and editing ahead of me. Will I be fine as is, or should I absolutely order more memory before even thinking of starting a massive project?
I've tried to get the best thing I can get, but I don't know a great deal about these systems.

Thanks!

Shawn
__________________
Breakthrough In Grey Room

Shawn Mielke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2004, 07:17 PM   #2
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Get more memory. I would get no less than another 512Mb. But really that is not near enough. I usually recommend 2Gb total and if you want an optimum amount 4Gb seems to really be the peak for performance. G5's require that ram be installed in pairs.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2004, 08:24 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Somerville, MA
Posts: 148
You pretty much absolutely need more memory.
And remember, you need to buy them and install them in pairs.
For instance, if you want 1GB more of memory, you need to get (2) 512MB sticks. That's what I did and i'm at 1.5GB.


Here's what I got and from this place too. They have great prices, quality and speedy service. I have memory from them on my PC and my G5.



http://www.crucial.com/store/MPartspecs.Asp?mtbpoid=1F69CEB4A5CA7304&WSMD=Power+Mac+G5+%28Dual+2%2E0GHz+DDR%29&WSPN=CT322476
__________________
Sony VX-1000
G5 1.8 dual
91 Turbo MR2
Ray Echevers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2004, 08:52 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, California
Posts: 745
Thanks guys.
I will definitely check out Crucial.
What does (more) memory do for the overall performance of a system?
Good for things like rendering, audio sync, whatever?
Can I feel, I don't know, safe, with 2gb until I'm able to afford another 2?
__________________
Breakthrough In Grey Room

Shawn Mielke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2004, 08:57 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Somerville, MA
Posts: 148
<<<-- Originally posted by Shawn Mielke : Thanks guys.
I will definitely check out Crucial.
What does (more) memory do for the overall performance of a system?
Good for things like rendering, audio sync, whatever?
Can I feel, I don't know, safe, with 2gb until I'm able to afford another 2? -->>>

Definetly, 2GB should be more than fine.
Even 1.5GB will be fine.
__________________
Sony VX-1000
G5 1.8 dual
91 Turbo MR2
Ray Echevers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2004, 09:32 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, California
Posts: 745
Alright, $300 for 1500mb at Crucial. I'm GLAD I forgot to have Apple preinstall more RAM! I haven't cracked the manual yet; is it a cinch to self install stuff?
__________________
Breakthrough In Grey Room

Shawn Mielke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2004, 09:46 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Somerville, MA
Posts: 148
<<<-- Originally posted by Shawn Mielke : Alright, $300 for 1500mb at Crucial. I'm GLAD I forgot to have Apple preinstall more RAM! I haven't cracked the manual yet; is it a cinch to self install stuff? -->>>
Yes it's pretty easy. The hardest part is actually putting the memory in the ram and latching it, it's always a very tight hard fit.
The manual has pics and guides you through it.

Remember, you have to install 2 sticks at a time and in the proper order (it's in the manual)
So if you want to add 1.5GB to your 512MB, you would need,

(2) 512 sticks
(2) 256 sticks
__________________
Sony VX-1000
G5 1.8 dual
91 Turbo MR2
Ray Echevers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2004, 09:47 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 439
ramjet.com

you need pairs so get another 512 (you only have one?) and since you have 2 256 chips get get 4 more 512s...

slots as follows:

512 512
512 512
512 512
256 256

install the slowest chips last (so I've been told).
should be smokin... if you're running compositing or 3D, etc... you should look into 2gb modules... get the 3200 chips too...
Josh Brusin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2004, 10:11 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, California
Posts: 745
Got it. Can't wait to read the manual! Thanks!
__________________
Breakthrough In Grey Room

Shawn Mielke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2004, 07:06 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 84
Might as well ask a similar question here :

My G4 Powerbook (1.25 gHz) has 512 megs of RAM.

Should I upgrade and what's the max upgrade I can do on a powerbook? Mind you, I use FCE and will soon get FCP. What type of memory should I get?
Joe Calalang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2004, 07:26 AM   #11
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
If yours is the 15" PB w/FireWire 800, it will hold up to 2GB of ram. You would have to replace your original 512MB because it only has 2 slots. You nee PC2700 DDR333 200 pin SO-DIMM's. Order from sources suggested in the posts above. I would recommend a minimum of 1GB total ram for editing in FCP and the more the better.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2004, 07:54 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
I believe you can roughly figure out how much RAM you will with a formula like the following:

( # of undos+1 * your project size ) + overhead

So if your project is 30MB and you have 30 layers of undos and the overhead is 100MB (I have no idea what the overhead is), then that's 1030GB. Performance will be slow when you run out of RAM. You can get around this by making your project size smaller, by doing things like avoiding excessive nesting.

Haven't tested things but I'm fairly sure that's how it works.

512MB I would consider to be the minimum based on experience with FCP3 / DP500mhz G4 doing a multicam edit.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2004, 11:08 AM   #13
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
PowerBooks have slower hard drives and performance really takes a hit if you run out of ram. If you set up an external drive for you scratch disk you'll also see better performance.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2004, 10:00 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
It makes more sense to load up on RAM or to avoid running out of RAM, as an external scratch drive versus an internal is like slow versus slower.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2004, 10:27 PM   #15
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
The OS and application are on the 5400rpm internal drive and your scratch disk is on a 7200rpm FireWire 800 or 400 drive. I don't see a slow vs. slower here. My PowerBook definitely slows down without a scratch disk. What PowerBook are you using Glen and how do you have it configured?
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:54 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network