Final cut express version 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 23rd, 2004, 06:16 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 58
Final cut express version 2

I am about to begin editing a couple of shorts that I shot this past weekend. I have Final cut express and know that apple has a new version of FCE out....is it worth the upgrade? If you have the new version what are some of the new features that you like?

Thanks!
Dennis Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2004, 12:57 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 27
I upgraded to FCP HD and I am very happy with it. After running FCE for 6 months the learning curve was not steep. I got OMF export so I can do Sound Editing in Digital Performer AND composing. I had no idea that Sound Track was included and that is really great if you need some short texture music. Then there is Compressor, Live Type and Cinema Tools too.

Mad a hole in the wallet but I am very content with the FCP HD upgrade.

(I am running it on 2GHz Dual G5)
__________________
//B C
Bjorn C Hagert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2004, 11:22 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 41
Dennis, FCE 2 introduces a huge upgrade to real-time performance, if you have a Mac to take advantage of that. You do not mention what Mac you are using, so it is a little hard to comment further.
__________________
Duane E. Martin
Earth to Sky Productions
Apple Certified Trainer - FCP
Duane Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2004, 01:23 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 27
Sorry I thought there was a FCE 3 out. I did not understand we talked about an upgrade from FCE 1 to FCE 2, sorry about that.

Then my reply is another; FCE 2 is really nice and it is really worth getting that one before you go to FCP. FCE 2 much better than FCE 1 and I felt like it was quite a lot faster too.
__________________
//B C
Bjorn C Hagert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2004, 09:15 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 58
Thanks for the replies!

I have a 1.25ghz/g4/256mb/80g HD, emac with superdrive. I bought it from apple with FCE installed.

I'm about to begin editing my first couple of shorts and was wondering if I should upgrade to version 2 before I start.
Dennis Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2004, 11:01 AM   #6
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
I don't use FCE (nor do the schools I teach at) so I can't comment on speed etc. But I will advise you to not to upgrade software during a project. More ram would be a great addition to your system as well.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2004, 11:06 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 27
<<<-- Originally posted by Dennis Parker :

I'm about to begin editing my first couple of shorts and was wondering if I should upgrade to version 2 before I start. -->>>

Yes!
__________________
//B C
Bjorn C Hagert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2004, 11:58 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 121
final cut express requires 384 of ram i believe
but 2 is a significant upgrade from 1 (rt extreme)
Alan Tran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2004, 09:21 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 9
Enough RAM?

Dennis,
Did you upgrade? If so, how did you go about the RAM. Yours is below specifications.

I have the same dilemma, will be editing with G4 256MB RAM and wanted to get Final Cut Express 2 but saw the specs were low.
Can anyone advise?

Thanks,
Jeff
Jeff Bilman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2004, 09:49 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 9
Enough RAM?

Dennis,
Did you upgrade? If so, how did you go about the RAM. Yours is below specifications.

I have the same dilemma, will be editing with G4 256MB RAM and wanted to get Final Cut Express 2 but saw the specs were low.
Can anyone advise?

Thanks,
Jeff
Jeff Bilman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2004, 04:41 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 58
Jeff,

I decided to stick with version 1 and not upgrade. I finished editing my two shorts and just last week I started submitting them to film fests.....my fingers are crossed about them being accepted!

I pulled the saturation down to make one short completely B&W, and I pulled down the saturation in the other short for a flashback scene. But that's getting off topic.....

:)
Dennis Parker is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:10 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network