FCE 1.0 + G5 dual 2ghz OK? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 19th, 2004, 10:42 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, California
Posts: 745
FCE 1.0 + G5 dual 2ghz OK?

Hi there. I recently got a G5 dual 2ghz. I have a copy of FCE, v1.0, and am wondering if upgrading to 2 or PRO would somehow make for a healthier system. I'm fine with the features of this version of FCE, that's not my question.
Will this newer computer run this software without problems?
Thanks for the thoughts.

Shawn
__________________
Breakthrough In Grey Room

Shawn Mielke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2004, 10:47 PM   #2
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
The software shouldn't be a problem.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2004, 10:59 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, California
Posts: 745
Just what I wanted to hear.
Thanks very much.

Shawn
__________________
Breakthrough In Grey Room

Shawn Mielke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2004, 12:19 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: san miguel allende , gto , mexico
Posts: 644
Shawn - you should download apples' free upgrade to 1.01- it's more stable than just 1.0
Kurth Bousman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2004, 06:27 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, California
Posts: 745
Good idea, Kurth...except that I have the computer in a location that doesn't have a working phone line. I'm investigating the phone line thing, but is there another way to get that update from the Apple website, over to my computer, via a medium and/or another Mac, something like that?

Thanks,

S.
__________________
Breakthrough In Grey Room

Shawn Mielke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2004, 02:47 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 346
Go anywhere with an internet connection and you can copy the file to a CD. Apple Stores will do this for if there is one near you, but really, any place that has an internet connection should allow you to download the file (like, wherever you are connecting to this site).

The link to download:
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=120329
Mark Sloan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2004, 03:25 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 51
I'm jealous. I want a G5 so bad!
Kyle De Priest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2004, 05:30 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, California
Posts: 745
Thanks, Mark. I figured out how to do what I need to do almost immediately after sending my last post. Duuh!

Yeah Kyle, it's a fluke that I got my G5 when I did. Allah bless extended family...

S.
__________________
Breakthrough In Grey Room

Shawn Mielke is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network