exporting to 2MPEG program? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 1st, 2004, 12:12 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 164
exporting to 2MPEG program?

Is there another program that I can use to take my uncompressed FCP footage and export it to an MPEG2 for use on a dvd so that it will look decent on a television. My version doesnt seem to have that option of FCP, no matter how many times I reload it or DVDSP.

Thanks
Ryan
Ryan Wachter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2004, 06:18 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 796
I've found BitVice form http://www.innobits.se to be excellent.
__________________
Dave Perry Cinematographer LLC
Director of Photography Editor Digital Film Production 540.915.2752 daveperry.net
Dave Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2004, 07:22 AM   #3
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Some people use Cleaner. What version of FCP are you using?
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2004, 09:11 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 164
I'm using final cut pro 4 and when i go to export>quicktime compression(or whatever exactly it says) I get about 12 options to choose from including MPEG4 but MPEG2 is not in there...
Ryan Wachter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2004, 03:53 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canberra AUSTRALIA
Posts: 169
Have you tried exporting using "Compressor" Ryan
Andrew Hogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2004, 04:53 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 164
Im having trouble with that as well. For some reason it wants a serial number but wont take the one for final cut pro. They both came together, i dont understand it.
Ryan Wachter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2004, 05:16 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canberra AUSTRALIA
Posts: 169
Did you upgrade from FCP3? maybe it wants that serial number...
Andrew Hogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2004, 06:32 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 164
I dont know what has changed but it is no longer asking for a serial number...I tell you what sometimes I think this mac is purposely trying to drive me insane.

Ok, obviously I am new to compressor...what is the best way to compress a fcp movie so that it will look good and not be pixelated on a tv?
Ryan Wachter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2004, 06:49 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canberra AUSTRALIA
Posts: 169
There are lots of Presets in COMPRESSOR.

There are some with higher quality for shorter movies and lower quality compression for long movies (if you are trying to fit it all on a 4.7GB DVDR. Also there are some presets for NTSC, PAL, widescreen,4:3 etc etc so find the one you need and also remember you need to also use it to create your PCM 48khtz audio track.

You can also tweak the presets and save the new preset so you can use it easier next time.
Andrew Hogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2004, 09:03 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 164
Ok, im a little confused. I pull out the sequence I want to use, i go to export>using compressor and nothing happens...with or without having compressor open as well. When I start messing around with it, it seems that I need to already compress it with quicktime compression or compressor wont even acknowledge it...doesnt that defeat the purpose?
Ryan Wachter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2004, 06:35 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canberra AUSTRALIA
Posts: 169
Right, Compressor does the compressing not quicktime. Open your FCP project, open the sequence you want to export. Have the playhead at the start of the sequence and choose: File, Export, Using Compressor..

Compressor will then open automatically. Then choose your preset and "submit" or OK (can't remember the name of the button)
Andrew Hogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2004, 08:12 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 164
Yea, thats what I do and it sets up like compressor is opening, but then nothing happens. It wont open. So when I open compressor and go to submit as to compress it, it wont give me the option of choosing the uncompressed sequence...only the one that was already compressed using quicktime...the icon is half fcp slate with a quicktime icon in the middle...thats the only time it will let me do it.
Ryan Wachter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2004, 02:16 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canberra AUSTRALIA
Posts: 169
Thats strange, I've never had that problem. Have you tried the normal fixes like repairing permissions etc?

You could try to export out of FCP as Animation quality Self contained QT movie and then import that into Compressor. But I haven't tried doing it this way as its an extra step that shouldn't be necessary.

Sorry but I think thats all I can suggest.

The probs you've been having with MPEG2 exports and Compressor shouldn't be happening either.

I would hate to suggest the following but would probably do it to my Mac if I couldn't get everything to work as it should.

Restore the Mac and reinstall everything else
Andrew Hogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2004, 08:20 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 164
Yea, it might have to come down to that...again.

Ive repaired the permissions before but forget entirely how to do it. Can you refresh my memory?
Ryan Wachter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2004, 01:42 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canberra AUSTRALIA
Posts: 169
In your Applications/Utilities folder open Disk Utility

select your start up Hard Drive and then in the First Aid tab click "Repair Permissions"
Andrew Hogan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:19 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network