Final Consensus: Does FCP use all 8 cores? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 19th, 2010, 11:05 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 204
Final Consensus: Does FCP use all 8 cores?

I've been reading for 5 hours and seem no closer to knowing the "truth." Do the current versions of FCP and Color take advantage of all 8 (or 4) cores of the newer Mac Pros?

I'm not talking about rending 8 different projects, but does FCP use all 8 cores to render and work on 1 single project?
Lloyd Ubshura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2010, 11:20 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,195
No.

If I'm not mistaken, the only program that does that within Final Cut Studio is Compressor, but I'm not completely sure.
Mathieu Ghekiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2010, 10:01 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 645
Does FCP use all 8 cores to render and work on 1 single project?

No.
Andy Mees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2010, 02:02 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 3,445
My understanding is that FCP can use all four cores of a single physical CPU.
Nigel Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2010, 08:45 AM   #5
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Your performance may vary

Actually until the next iteration of FCS is released (that is, assuming Jobs hasn't put a hold on development after firing 40 of it's developers recently) and *hopefully* unleashes all the 64-bit code in Snow Leopard on the suite there probably isn't a "yes or no" answer to anyone's system; it's going to depend on whether or not you have SL and the assets Grand Central Dispatch is allowed to allocate.

If you want to find out *exactly* which CPU cores are being used at any given time, install the Developer Tools available on your OS install disk and run the "Instruments" app. In there is a utility that can monitor all CPU core activity and even make a report on the usage.

NOTE: Instruments and the Developer tools are very deep code-wrangling apps; be careful goofing around with these tools and if you're not sure what they do or how to use them, the general rule is "don't do it". (there are instructions included for every app and operation)
Attached Thumbnails
Final Consensus: Does FCP use all 8 cores?-instruments.png  
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:35 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network