MBP ....... workflow / data structure? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 8th, 2010, 06:28 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Aotearoa
Posts: 81
MBP ....... workflow / data structure?

Hi there... getting my new macbook pro i7 17" soon and want to set this up properly this time!

Since my MBP (7200rpm 500G) has only 1 harddrive..

1. Should I set scratch disk on the system drive?
2. or create partition and put all media files on the partition (i've heard a tech guy say partitions are no longer recommended for this, as it slows things down)
3. How about scratch disk on external hard drives?
3a. Which way for external HDD?
3a1 - FW800 Raid 0? WD does one called MyBook Studio edition 4TB
3a2 - ESATA? via expresscard adapter?
3a3 - Apiotek has a USB3 to expresscard adapter... mabe get a USB3 enclosure?

How are your guys projects / media organised?

I saw one video recommending resetting scratch folders to each new project you create, and another telling me to use the same scratch folder all the time............

Confused..arrrghhhh.
Josh Fung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2010, 05:25 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Answers by number:

1) Avoid using the system drive for a scratch disk unless forced by circumstance.

2) Don't bother with partitions.

3) External drive yes! Especially for desktop editing. On that topic, don't go for less than FireWire 800. RAID is nice but not necessary for a lot of work. Think about what formats you'll work with and then apply that to the level of drive you need. Same for eSATA, nice but not needed for HD. USB3? Don't even try it until some reviews come in. FireWire and SATA are proven.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation

Last edited by William Hohauser; June 8th, 2010 at 09:40 PM.
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2010, 05:35 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Aotearoa
Posts: 81
Thanks alot for the reply!

Mainly work with XHA1 HDV footage, and 5D Mark II footage converted to prores LT 1920x1080 25p....

How should your scratch folder be organised?

Option 1.
Set scratch on external firewire drive, Final Cut Pro Documents, and use this every single time,

Option 2.
Set a scratch folder each time you start a new project, so that all render, media, thumbnail, raw capture footage is all in one folder??
Josh Fung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2010, 09:43 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
You might want to do that if you have (or plan to have) a drive per project. Otherwise FCP captures each project into it's own folders already separate from other projects.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2010, 12:58 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Aotearoa
Posts: 81
Thanks William

I think what I meant was for each "project folder" to contain all the media, project files, render files, thumbnail files....... in one folder. So that all the links are there should I need to switch computers.


Decided on a pleiades 500GB 7200rpm FW800 2.5 inch instead...

I Think it'll be enough for my on the run applications.

Get a larger 3.5 one later just for backups.
Josh Fung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2010, 10:21 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 306
Where to keep your project media files is a question of workflow.

If I'm working on a major project at home and want to be able to transfer it among computers, I set everything from that project to one folder.

On the other hand, if I'm doing daily news production at work, I'm more concerned with being able to free up space when needed - so I have one capture scratch folder that all the daily stuff goes into. That way I can delete the capture files but still have the project intact if I need to re-capture.

But always, an external or secondary drive.
Chuck Fadely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2010, 03:18 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 3,445
Another option to add a disk drive is to replace the internal DVD with one of these & the disk drive of your choice MCE OptiBay Hard Drive and SSD Drive for MacBook Pro, MacBook, PowerBook G4, and Mac mini
Nigel Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2010, 11:42 PM   #8
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Josh,

Here's a setup guide that will give you options for any Mac configuration you start off with:

How to Setup your Computer for Video Editing | Go-Go-Godzilla.com
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2010, 08:48 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London
Posts: 222
Robert, the URL ends in error message - cant find the page.
S.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Lane View Post
Josh,

Here's a setup guide that will give you options for any Mac configuration you start off with:

How to Setup your Computer for Video Editing | Go-Go-Godzilla.com
Sherif Choudhry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2010, 09:15 AM   #10
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sherif Choudhry View Post
Robert, the URL ends in error message - cant find the page.
S.
That blog has been migrated to a new one, here's the new link to that article:

Grumpy Quail: Setting up your Computer for HD Video Editing
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2010, 12:54 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London
Posts: 222
Thanks Robert. Very helpful article.

I have a "phase 1" macbook pro - ie only 1 internal HDD and 1 external HDD 7200rpm

- OS and applications/programs on internal drive

the rest i have on the external HD - so far I have had no issues as I only ever have 2 streams of video max - and around 4-6 audio streams - so I guess my setup works but for only the "simplest" of video projects.

- MEDIA FILES on external HDD
- AUTOSAVE AND CACHE on external HDD
- RENDER FILES on external HDD
- PROJECT FILE on external HDD

Sherif
Sherif Choudhry is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:36 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network