Rendering problem with multiclip at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 8th, 2010, 11:12 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fidjeland, Norway
Posts: 289
Rendering problem with multiclip

Hi.
I am trying to edit a multiclip with 4 cameras, shot in HDV1080p 25 on the Sony Z5.

I am running a 1080p25HDV timeline and when I place just the one clip on the timeline everything works fine. No rendering required.

But when I create a multiclip and place that on the timeline I have to render everything. There`s a green line running on top. When the rendering is done I can no longer play back the multiclips. Just the edited piece. The multiclips no longer show. I have 40 hours to edit so this is a bit frustrating.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Svein Rune
Svein Rune Skilnand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2010, 12:20 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,629
No multiclip in HDV or AVCHD timelines! It's too much work for the computer. Switch the sequence settings to ProRes and you'll find that the multi-clip will work.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Producer/Edit/Camera/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2010, 01:10 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fidjeland, Norway
Posts: 289
William, thanks.
I`ll try that.

I must however point out that my computer was specifically built by my supplier for editing multiclips in HDV. It used to work fine with multiclips HDV1080i.

I will see if I can find the setting and change the sequence.
Svein Rune Skilnand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2010, 02:31 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fidjeland, Norway
Posts: 289
I tried changing the sequence to Pro Res. But it didn`t help. I still have to render.

I tried making a multiclip of some XDCam EX clips, but the same problem arises. One by one on the timeline works fine, no rendering required. But placing them in a multiclip creates the same problem again.
Svein Rune Skilnand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2010, 08:19 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,629
Doesn't happen to me and I used to do this on an old G5 Mac but I was working with 720p or 1080i. Do you have the sequence set to dynamic playback resolution? If so try to set it to a lower playback resolution. 1080p is twice as much information as 1080i. You may have to transcode to ProRes to reduce the CPU load of the HDV files.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Producer/Edit/Camera/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2010, 04:36 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 444
It is probably something to do with 25p not being a standard broadcast deliverable format, thus it's less likely that the Final Cut real time extreme engine is optimised for it, especially it being used in Multicam.

That'd be my hunch.
__________________
www.afterglow.co.nz
Craig Parkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2010, 01:40 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fidjeland, Norway
Posts: 289
Craig, your suggestion sort of makes sense. But why does it also happen on XDCam EX formats?

Does this mean that from now on I should rathe stick to DVCam or 1080i?
Svein Rune Skilnand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2010, 01:51 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,629
Did you try transcoding the files to ProRes? Do that first before going to DVCam! Just do a test on some short clips. Also make sure that the ProRes sequence you are using is 1080 25p.

What model of Mac do you have, by the way?
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Producer/Edit/Camera/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:19 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network