Snow Leopard and FCP at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 20th, 2010, 08:20 PM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 431
Snow Leopard and FCP

I'm getting ready to upgrade to Snow Leopard. Are there any compatibility issues I need to be aware of? Any glitches?
"Get Er Done!!!"
G. Lee Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2010, 03:42 AM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: York, UK.
Posts: 224

My strongest advice, and this after having had endless problems with the FCS Suite using the latest MP and ProRes projects, is that you do a complete fresh install on a brand new drive of your (new/Snow Leopard) operating system, your edit software and plugins. I've just probably had bad luck with my workstation configuration but you can sidestep a lot of issues by taking a deep breath and starting from scratch. Avoid the headaches in advance!

The only other issues I've heard of that more than a few people have suffered from are that some of the recent ProKit software updates have deleterious effects on some of the FCS suite. It varies for different people but some have found solace by reverting from ProKit 6.x to ProKit 5.1.

I'm also beginning to wonder if I have yet another dodgy ATI card (HD5870), given the graphical issues I'm getting, so make sure you're happy with yours, whatever you use.

Just my 2 cents.
Justin Benn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2010, 09:09 AM   #3
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
I'll second the fresh install of everything. I didn't do it and a month later had an issue which the experts at apple said couldn't be resolved and that I should just wipe and reinstall. Since then, it's been flawless.
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2010, 04:06 PM   #4
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: York, England
Posts: 1,323
.....whereas I just repaired permissions etc BEFORE doing an UPGRADE and had no problems at all.

So, Upgrades can and do work, but understand that IF you have problems that can't be explained or fixed then a clean install MAY be required.
Qualified UAV Pilot with CAA PFAW
Aerial Photo / Aerial Video | Corporate Video Production
Dave Partington is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:32 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network