Vertual Media not found at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 31st, 2012, 11:39 AM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: McBride BC Canada
Posts: 93
Vertual Media not found

I'm new in using a computer for editing as most of my wildlife films have been edited on the Editoral Video Canvas DV-7 which was a joy to use over a lot of my 20 years of filming. For my last film "Wildest of the Wild" which was shot with the Canon XLH1 using tape I edited on FCP version 7 and the Macpro. Using Log and Capture was easy and now I'm trying to figure out files and folders. The camera I'm presently using is the Canon XF300.

With Canon XF utility Version 1.0.0 I have filed footage using Create Virtual Media. The problem I'm having is all my stored footage by Virtual Media Name is no longer highlited on the left column. The Canon XF utility icon pops up with the message Virtual Media cannot be found. How can I bring my Virtual Media names (archive ) to be highlited so the footage can be seen on Canon XF utility? The problem started when I was trying to figure out how to bring filed footage into FCP where I had footage that was logged from HDV tape. I usually learn by trial and error, however, I'm really stumped and my folders path is all messed up. Is there a way I can start with fresh files or folders without losing priceless footage. I'm trying to feel my way around this file editing and I have lots to learn. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Leon Lorenz
Canadian Wildlife Productions: Grizzly Bears, Bighorm Sheep in Alberta & BC Rockies DVD Videos
Leon Lorenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2012, 04:45 PM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Plantation, FL
Posts: 238
Re: Vertual Media not found


Sorry for your trouble. I shouldn't be responding but as no one else has yet, i'll give you my 2 cents.
Why are you using the 'create virtual' option?
Do you have the SD card still available?
Have you tried simply transcoding from the card?
The CanonXF plugin makes it easier and you can bypass the XF utility.
Canon XF Plugin for Final Cut Pro 1.1

Plugin installed you simpy insert SD card, open FCP, choose your settings for transcode codec (ProResLT?), & log and transfer.
Once the footage is transcoded you should have no problem using both types of clips in the same project.

Good Luck.
Mark Ahrens
Mark Ahrens is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:28 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network