FCP 6 on latest iMacs? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 4th, 2012, 12:54 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Macroom, Co. Cork, Ireland
Posts: 55
FCP 6 on latest iMacs?

My trusty power mac G5 has just bitten the dust. I am planning on getting a new imac which has the Lion os. When I asked the salesman if I could use FCP 6 on it I was told only FCP7 or X would work .Is this true and will I be able to update my FCP 6 projects if I install FCP 7??? Thanks
Robb Bradstock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2012, 01:23 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Entebbe Uganda
Posts: 768
Re: FCP 6 on latest iMacs?

Why not get on board the FCPX bandwagon now? The program has matured somewhat now after the initial hoohaa, and it is possible to import FCP7 (and 6) projects to FCPX at this point.

Get the free trial, and buy the Ripple Training videos; you'll never look back to FCP6 or 7 again.
Simon Wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2012, 02:24 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rego Park , NYC
Posts: 649
Re: FCP 6 on latest iMacs?

Final Cut Pro 6 [included with Final Cut Studio 2]is a universal app and will work on Lion 10.7. Unfortunately, the installer itself is PowerPC only. You have to install Rosetta from a 10.6 disc in order to run the installer on your Intel Mac.

I went thru this a couple months back when I bought a Mac Pro. I assume if you did a straight migration, it will copy over the applications for you without having to do the Rosetta install.
John C. Chu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2012, 06:07 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Macroom, Co. Cork, Ireland
Posts: 55
Re: FCP 6 on latest iMacs?

Hi Thanks for the reply. I am still a bit confused. if I open a Fcp 6 project which I have exported from My G5 onto the new iMac that has fcp7 installed will I be able to upgrade it or any Fcp 5 or 6 project or will I need the Rosetta program.. Thanks
Robb Bradstock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2012, 06:33 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rego Park , NYC
Posts: 649
Re: FCP 6 on latest iMacs?

Rosetta will be needed to install Final Cut Studio 2 on your Lion OS Macintosh.

If you are going to install Final Cut Studio 3 then it is not needed to install the program.

[I don't have FCP 7-- I will probably make the jump to FCP X.]

It should not be an issue opening FCP 6 projects in FCP 7. [Might be a one way trip though].
John C. Chu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2012, 08:46 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Re: FCP 6 on latest iMacs?

Opening FCP 6 projects in FCP 7 is easy just a click and FCP will convert it. If you want to go back to FCP 6 you use XML Type 4 not 5. This works pretty well. If you converted your FCS 2 to Universal then it will be able to install on Intel machines or Power PC. Don't know how well or if FCP 6 runs on Lion as most people have been talking about FCP 7 on Lion. I might have to try it to see.
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2012, 11:27 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Macroom, Co. Cork, Ireland
Posts: 55
Re: FCP 6 on latest iMacs?

Thanks for the reply. How do you convert FCS2 to universal ?
Robb Bradstock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2012, 03:05 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Re: FCP 6 on latest iMacs?

Apple had a disc swap upgrade when the change from Power PC to Intel chips happened. You might have a universal version if you bought your FCS 2 late in the cycle. If not you might just have to go to EBay.
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2012, 05:26 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Macroom, Co. Cork, Ireland
Posts: 55
Re: FCP 6 on latest iMacs?

Hi again. Is there anyway to tell if it's universal or not on the discs? Thanks
Robb Bradstock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2012, 01:23 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York NY
Posts: 322
Re: FCP 6 on latest iMacs?

FCP 6 is universal. It was FCP 5 that required a "cross grade" to go from PPC to Intel.
__________________
Post production is not an afterthought!
www.arniepix.com
Arnie Schlissel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2012, 01:49 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Macroom, Co. Cork, Ireland
Posts: 55
Re: FCP 6 on latest iMacs?

Great to have cleared that up! Thanks to all for your responses
Robb Bradstock is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network