Yeah, they SAY Live Type was integrated into Motion 4. . . at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 6th, 2013, 02:47 PM   #1
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Yeah, they SAY Live Type was integrated into Motion 4. . .

But, is it really?

I like a fool had to go get a relatively new Imac that only came with Mountain Lion and therefore instantly obsoleterated (Webster's inclusion pending) my FCS 2 suite that had Livetype. I got FCS3 with Motion 4 and no LiveType.

I'm not real familiar with LT but it seems pretty cool for lower thirds and the like. Watched a few tutorials about making those in Motion and I see how it could work, but what happened to the heart of the the lower thirds in LT. . .the "objects" (i.e. backgrounds for text to go over) that were specifically meant for making them?

Did I forget to install something or is that stuff just gone?
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2013, 08:11 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Re: Yeah, they SAY Live Type was integrated into Motion 4. . .

Google this topic and you will find that you can install Livetype from your old FCS install discs. I just did a dirty install of Mountain Lion over my FCP 7 Snow Leopard install and it works fine.... Live type also works.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2013, 09:34 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Gloucs, UK
Posts: 201
Re: Yeah, they SAY Live Type was integrated into Motion 4. . .

Foxvideo Productions: Livetype, Lion and FCS3
__________________
http://www.foxvideo.co.uk
Dave Farrants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2013, 04:33 PM   #4
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Re: Yeah, they SAY Live Type was integrated into Motion 4. . .

But the rest of the suite is no good with ML right? Please tell me I didn't waste a huge chunk of currency cabbage buying FCS3 unnecessarily.

Thanks for the tip.

While I was digging around for something else I found that those lower third type objects ARE hidden in motion. There are quite a few under Replicators. They're just not tagged in a way that you could search "lower third" or something. Maybe more in the content folder but that thing's huge so I didn't scroll through it all.
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2013, 04:43 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Gloucs, UK
Posts: 201
Re: Yeah, they SAY Live Type was integrated into Motion 4. . .

Don't see why if you have FCS3. I run FCS3 with Livetype on 10.8.3 system (ML) with no problems. If the FCS3 is an upgrade you just need the FCP2 serial number, no need to install it, just install Livetype from the FCS2 disk as described in the blog post.
__________________
http://www.foxvideo.co.uk
Dave Farrants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2013, 04:58 PM   #6
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Re: Yeah, they SAY Live Type was integrated into Motion 4. . .

Right. I'm not sayin 3 isn't an improvement in many ways just wondering if it turns out FCP6 etc. worked on ML all along.
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2013, 08:06 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Re: Yeah, they SAY Live Type was integrated into Motion 4. . .

FCS 3 is a big improvement over FCS2 and it works fine on my ML. I didn't even do a clean install of ML. I just installed and migrated from Snow Leopard.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2013, 11:12 PM   #8
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Re: Yeah, they SAY Live Type was integrated into Motion 4. . .

Think we may have a miscommunication. I was mostly wondering out loud if FCS2 would still work on ML even though it's not supposed to. I have FSC3 and have it installed and am using it so I know it's good to go. I was originally just bemoaning the loss of LIvetype as a separate app.
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2013, 07:22 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Re: Yeah, they SAY Live Type was integrated into Motion 4. . .

No. I expect FCS2 won't work on Lion or ML. You can however, extract LiveType from the FCS2 install disk and get it running on ML. The article referenced above explains how.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2013, 07:35 AM   #10
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Re: Yeah, they SAY Live Type was integrated into Motion 4. . .

Thanks. I will take a look at that.
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2013, 02:55 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 2,835
Re: Yeah, they SAY Live Type was integrated into Motion 4. . .

Quote:
Originally Posted by Les Wilson View Post
No. I expect FCS2 won't work on Lion or ML.
Actually, just for the record, FCS2 seems to work fine on Mountain Lion - albeit I've not really use it much since installing it via the method detailed below - CS6 is so much faster - but at least I know FCS2 is still there if I need to open any legacy projects!

How to Install FCS 2 on Mac Pro Running Mountain Lion
__________________
Andy K Wilkinson - http://www.shootingimage.co.uk
Cambridge (UK) Corporate Video Production
Andy Wilkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2013, 05:18 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Re: Yeah, they SAY Live Type was integrated into Motion 4. . .

WOW. That's cool. FCS2 must have been a universal binary. I see the key is installing it on Snow Leopard and letting the OS X migration move the files around. The installer won't run but the App will. Good to know.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2013, 08:17 PM   #13
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Re: Yeah, they SAY Live Type was integrated into Motion 4. . .

Hey guys. I kind of abandoned this thread 'cause I realized where all the lower thirds etc. were in motion (hidden among the various replicators/etc. ) Now I actually need to work on something that was done in Livetype and don't want to rebuild from scratch.

Wondering how the FCS2 discs labeled "Livetype Media 1"/2 fit into all this? I'm guessing that's more elements/graphics? Where would you put the contents of those DVDs? They're not mentioned in the linked article above.
Josh Bass is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:39 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network