Setting up at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 6th, 2006, 06:48 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 259
Setting up

Hey Guys!

I am about to embark on a new and larger project. Right now I have an apple ibook G4 with Final Cut Express and a Maxtor Hard disk with a whopping 300Gb.

Can I set it up so that I can store everything I capture and edit on the ext.hardisk (which will more or less remain attached to my laptop)? I heard something about FCE needing to be moved onto the ext. Harddisk as well, is it just to drag and drop?

The reason i am asking is that sometimes imported files didn't remain 'online' on my last project so most of my those files needed to remain on the desktop for easy access.

This project is going to be much bigger and therefore I won't have that space on my desktop.

Thanks for any help!
Chris Westerstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2006, 07:44 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
I use FCP, so not completely sure if FCE is different. But you should be able to set your external drive as your scratch disk in the preferences. This will cause all render and capture files to be stored there. However, if you try to open a project and the external drive isn't connected (or isn't turned on) then FCP will ask you to choose a different disk, which would probably be the internal drive. That would also cause some files to be stored on the internal drive. Careful with this, especially if you move the hard drive to different computers. You can end up not having some files that you need since they would be on the laptop's drive.

But if you always have the external drive connected, and if you set it as your scratch disk, then everything should be fine. I'd be surprised if FCE also needs to be installed on the external drive. With FCP you can have it on the internal drive.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2006, 07:48 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 259
Thanks Boyd!
That sounds very logical as does most everything with Mac. However, very confusing at first if one is used to PC's (and bad at those as well!)

At any rate, where in the preferences do I set my external hard drive as a scratch disk?

thanks
Chris Westerstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2006, 07:59 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
In FCP you would go to "preferences" under the Final Cut Pro menu. There are a number of tabs there and one of them lets you choose a scratch disk. Have never used FCE, but I suspect there's something similar.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2006, 04:37 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 259
thanks again! It is now set!
Chris Westerstrom is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:57 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network