New to Mac's- will this configuration work out of the box? at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 14th, 2006, 12:28 PM   #1
New Boot
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Olympia, Washington State, US
Posts: 10
New to Mac's- will this configuration work out of the box?

I realize this type of question is asked a lot and I have read through the archives, but haven't found an answer yet. I have called Apple and they don't seem to know what a NLE is. Will this straight from the store computer work with at least SD until I can make some $ to upgrade to faster HDD RPM?
Powermac dual 2.0 G5
1ghtz FSB
4gb memory
nvidia 7800 gt GPU
2 500gb 7200 sata HDD. (they won't sell a 160 and a 500 together)
FCP 5.1 Studio
Boris FX
23" Flat HD monitor
Does anyone see any problems with this configuration? Is 7200 rpm too slow? If I didn't have a deadline I would buy one 160 gb hdd from Apple and a third party 10,000rpm hdd, but as soon as it arrives I have to start editing a (sd) TV program with a 30 day deadline from today. Also, how do I explain to them how to configure a TV out for a monitor? They don't seem to know what I am talking about. Anything else? Thanks and hello to all, John
#2 edit.Thanks for your help. Any ideas on how to explain to Apple how to configure the (vga)tv out for production monitor?

Last edited by John Grant; May 15th, 2006 at 06:52 AM.
John Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2006, 12:43 PM   #2
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,100
Images: 1

You have a very capable machine for editing SD and HDV. Final Cut Pro is of course, an NLE as is, iMovie and Final Cut Express. The person on the phone probably has no idea about video editing and what "non-linear editor" actually refers to.

Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2006, 02:07 PM   #3
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,463
I have a dual 2.5 G5 and it works very well for SD and HDV, so I think you'll be fine. 7200 RPM should be plenty fast for internal drives (is there even anything faster?). You could just buy a single drive machine and add your own second internal SATA drive to save some money; it's really easy and instructions are in the owners manual. Drives are available from CompUSA, Best Buy and other places. Same thing for RAM. Of course getting everything from Apple would simplify warranty and troubleshooting issues though.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2006, 02:32 PM   #4
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
That'll work like a's bigger than what I've got!
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2006, 01:10 PM   #5
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taffs well, Wales
Posts: 190
im only 15 and i got my Power mac Dual 2.3GHz pc about two weeks ago with the basic equipment 256 Graphics memory and 512mb ram i was editing 2 hour projects on it and it is fine. A bit slow when rendering but fine. i have tried HD then it gets a bit slow. i use final cut express HD 3.0 and it works fine. you computer looks to be really good.
Nathaniel McInnes is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:48 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network