Audio Speakers with Mac Pro at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 13th, 2007, 05:24 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 92
Audio Speakers with Mac Pro

I was looking for a pair of good speakers/audio monitors for use with my soon to have Mac Pro. Turns out, options are limited since the sound comes from the board itself and the PCI Slots can't be accessed from the back. What do the hard core editors like your selves do for speaker/audio monitors?


Thanks
Alden Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2007, 05:34 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 591
I really like the tapco powered monitors..... anything with a 5" and above woofer will sound great....

http://www.tapcoworld.com/products/s5/index.html



bose sounds a little altered to me.....

and the 2.1 systems just don't seem right either.
Christopher Witz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2007, 11:53 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 92
really... no 2.1?
Now here's my dumb question, how do you hook that up to the mac. so you need to pass through anything? What cables do you use?

Thanks
Alden Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2007, 12:41 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fort Worth Texas
Posts: 247
I run a Pioneer Dolby Digital amp with 5 Infinity Reference series speakers and a velodine 12 inch sub. All connected by Optic cable.

So, look into an amp, and your choice of speakers.
Jim Fields is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2007, 06:59 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 591
there will be 2 mini plugs on the back of the mac.... one has an icon of a circle with triangles pointing in ( looks like speaker cones from the side ).... that's your line out to an amp.... most powered ( self amp'd ) come with cables. the other plug hole is your mic/line in.

2.1's are ok... and may sound big..... but for proper and accurate reference audio for critical use.... they'r not good.

but I guess you could go with some 2.1's and use a good set of headphones like sony v600's for reference.

do a search through the "hear it now" forums here at dvinfo....
Christopher Witz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2007, 06:59 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 591
double post mouse click... sorry
Christopher Witz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2007, 12:40 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: McLean, VA United States
Posts: 749
There are several ways to get audio out of the Mac
1. Through the analogue port. Use with any set of powered or unpowered speakers (amplifier required). This is the only option that relies on the D/A converters in the Mac itself. All the others rely on D/A converters which are part of the connected component
2. USB. Many manufacturers make powered speakers which plug into a USB port. Some of these are pretty good.
3. Optical fiber. Connects to any amplifier or set of speakers with a fiber input port
4. Firewire. Requires Firewire compatible hardware and software.

Option 4 is the only way I know to play back multiple independent channels. While the optical fiber option will allow decoding of 5.1 surround if the connectred device contains a decoder the Firewire option will allow 6 (or more) separate, independent channels with appropriate hardware and DAW. Another advantage of this option is that the devices which allow multiple channel output are usually capable of multi channel input as well.
A. J. deLange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2007, 01:33 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 92
Ok, last question.. otherwise this will get moved to "Now Hear This". Do most indie filmmakers here have or better yet, need an amp for their editing practices? I realize what an amp does (or I think I do :P), but what advantage does it bring with editing, be it video and/or audio.

Thanks a lot for all your help so far guys

Alden
Alden Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2007, 02:41 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fort Worth Texas
Posts: 247
The only reason I have an amp ans speakers is because I bought new stuff for the living room, and decided to put the old stuff to use. I might be the only person I know of that does it this way.
Jim Fields is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2007, 03:41 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 51
For some amazingly sweet sound (and I do mean amazing, you won't even believe the aural quality out of these little guys) check out the Genelec 8020APM monitors:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...ughType=search

You're gonna have to mess around a bit because it only takes XLR ins. I have mine running through a Mackie Big Knob (http://www.mackie.com/products/bigknob/index.html) with a handful of conversion cables. But I must say the audio is incredibly sweet. Another advantage of that Big knob there is I have my deck hooked up separately. And of course, for those lonely nights cutting, the cable box is hooked in as well. Law & Order never sounded so sweet. Happy building.
Jonathan Poritsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2007, 11:57 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ 85260
Posts: 1,538
I don't think there's anything wrong with monitoring sound out of the computer - but for the past seven years, all my FCP editing rigs have set up audio monitoring via firewire AT MY RECORDING DECK.

Typical path is Mac via Firewire to a DSR series DVCAM mastering deck. The RCA audio outputs of that deck feed my mixer (Mackie 1642) which in turn feeds the XLR inputs of a pair of Mackie HR824 monitors.

Theory being you want to monitor AUDIO the same as you monitor VIDEO - at the final output point in the system, as it's going to the deck you're mastering on.

That way, what you hear is what's going to the MASTER, not any stage prior to that that might be OK, even if the sound going to the master is NOT.

FWIW.
Bill Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2007, 02:05 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 523
re: The Big Knob

That is the coolest thing I've seen in a long time. That is exactly what I'm using a Mackie 1202 for. But this does it so much better. I want one!

Why does it have to be so darn expensive?
__________________
Andy Tejral
Railroad Videographer
Andy Tejral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2007, 08:57 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 51
It's big and it's a knob. What's not to be expensive?
Jonathan Poritsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2007, 09:58 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Tejral
I want one!
I bought one! Anybody want to buy a 1202?
__________________
Andy Tejral
Railroad Videographer
Andy Tejral is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:28 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network