Filming hdv straight to hard drive at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 10th, 2007, 12:03 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 60
Filming hdv straight to hard drive

Does anyone know if you can capture hdv footage straight from camera to the hard drive through firwire? i.e bypass the tape?

When I try in quicktime (through file:new movie recording) it only captures in dv even when ilink conv is off and vcr is in HDV. I am using the Sony HDV handycam (HDR-HC1E).

Can it be done in FCP? Or do I need specialist software?

Cheers

Daniel
Daniel Stevenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2007, 09:07 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 611
VirtualDVHS will do what you want. It's not particularly user friendly, there's no live preview, and it seems quite buggy. However it's free, and will record a pure m2t file to the HDD.

Download it from here. Be aware that this is a directly link not a page - the page is here: http://developer.apple.com/sdk/.

I think there's a new version of you sign up to the Apple Developer Connection but I don't know what the differences are.

You could get preview playback by starting to record to the HDD, then playing the file, as you record, in VLC. However there'll be a delay in playback, and I'd only recommend it on a fast computer on with a lot of RAM. plus it's fiddly.
__________________
Shorts::Cut - www.shortscut.org.uk
The Short Film Festival for Portsmouth & Southsea.
Dylan Pank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2007, 07:07 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 60
thanks dylan, i'll have a look. Will the m2t file be compatible with fcp?
Daniel Stevenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2007, 03:44 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 611
No, you'd have to use MPEG Streamclip to convert it.
__________________
Shorts::Cut - www.shortscut.org.uk
The Short Film Festival for Portsmouth & Southsea.
Dylan Pank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2007, 10:05 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 306
I've done a good bit of "live" capture from a Canon at 1080i60 using Final Cut 5.1.2 into a Powerbook with an extenal 800fw drive.

The only issue is that it takes 15-30 seconds for the recording to actually begin after you've clicked "capture now".

I think maybe you need a tape in the camera to do it?

Chuck


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Stevenson View Post
Does anyone know if you can capture hdv footage straight from camera to the hard drive through firwire? i.e bypass the tape?

When I try in quicktime (through file:new movie recording) it only captures in dv even when ilink conv is off and vcr is in HDV. I am using the Sony HDV handycam (HDR-HC1E).

Can it be done in FCP? Or do I need specialist software?

Cheers

Daniel
Chuck Fadely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2007, 12:43 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 60
Thanks Chuck, what codec were you using?
Daniel Stevenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2007, 07:10 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 306
My live capture was at 1080i60 and 30f into a 1080i60 project, set up using HDV 1080i60 Easy Setup.
Chuck Fadely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2007, 04:09 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central, OH
Posts: 207
iMovie will do this.
David Garvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2007, 11:30 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sussex, UK
Posts: 317
I Movie captures HD in AIC format not HDV. This is what I have found.

To get the cleanest picture capture using VirtualDVHS convert the .m2t file in MPEG Streamclip to AIC or HDV, edit in FCP.
James Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2007, 02:00 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central, OH
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Miller View Post
I Movie captures HD in AIC format not HDV. This is what I have found
This is correct, afaik. Is this an issue? IOW, do you prefer HDV to AIC?
David Garvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2007, 02:04 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sussex, UK
Posts: 317
I prefer AIC it's faster to work with when you do a lot of effects/colour in FCP. And converting .m2t to AIC seems a lot cleaner, However lets see what FCP2 has in store with Prores.
James Miller is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:15 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network