Egads! Why is it doing this?! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 22nd, 2007, 10:43 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 111
Egads! Why is it doing this?!

I recently shot a dance recital with a Z1u and PD170. While editing the video, something funky is going during playback in FCP. It seems as if the video is being slowed down in certain spots, almost stopping and then resuming normal play.

I am totally perplexed.

It's a dual 2.3 G5 with 2.5 RAM.

Has anyone else encountered this? If so, how can I correct it?
Colby Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 06:25 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 111
Update: Just put this project on disc with DVDSP... and there are some parts (too many, actually) that look just AWFUL. It's pixelated now, not like it was in the timeline during playback.

Suggestions as to what could be causing this? It seems kind of recent as my last few projects didn't have any issues like this.
Colby Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 07:01 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
How full is your Hard drive?
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 08:52 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 111
It's a 250gb with about 60gb left on it right now.

Only recently have I noticed this in FCP, like this project and my last one. It's kind of like the video 'strobes' or slows for a second, then quickly catches up where it needs to be. I thought that maybe it was just a playback issue, but it has carried over onto the DVD.

I'm really baffled by all of this.
Colby Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 10:41 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
is it on every project or just the current one?
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2007, 09:47 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 111
This is the only project I have open and am working on. I viewed the raw tapes on my TV just to make sure they were good, and they were.

I was watching this video in the viewer (unedited, straight from the logging bin) and it still has that 'snag' and pixelated look and feel to it.
Colby Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2007, 11:08 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
try opening the footage in "Quicktime Player" to see if it's just the footage. Try opening a different project to see if it's something in FCP or just something in that project.
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2007, 12:56 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 111
In QT it still seems to snag some, but not to the extreme that it does on the timeline or on DVD.
I'm going to load another project and see what happens.
Colby Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2007, 01:13 PM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Just a wild guess.... since you shot with a Z1, is it possible that the camera was set to PAL (50i) mode? Or possibly CF24 or CF25? Do the problem sections also require rendering while others do not?

Can you try copying the QT clips to a different disk drive and see if that helps? Or try playing them on another Mac?
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2007, 01:37 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 111
Thanks for weighing in Boyd.
Both cameras were NTSC and these problems seem to arise on both pieces of video.
I changed the playback setting from Dyanamic to Full and it seemed to help some, but minimal at best.

Unfortunately, I have only 1 hard drive for now.
Colby Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2007, 02:10 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 414
Just a wild guess: is your RAM OK?
__________________
Sony XDCAM EX1r, Canon 5DMkII, Røde NTG2, Røde NT1000, Røde Stereo Videomic, Sachtler DV6 SB on Gitzo 1325V, Steadicam Merlin, Omnitracker, Hackintosh 3.5Ghz Quad 8Gb RAM
Zsolt Gordos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2007, 04:30 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 111
I have 2.5 RAM.

I'm beginning to wonder if there was a document in FCP that I deleted accidentally.
If I do an uninstall and reinstall it, what am I looking at other than time? Would anyone recommend this route?

Edit to add:
What folders & files should I have in my FCP documents?

Last edited by Colby Knight; June 25th, 2007 at 04:46 PM. Reason: just thought of something!
Colby Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2007, 05:36 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
do you have a video sample of the problem - you said it was broken on export right? I have some thoughts, but I'd like to discount them iff possible as explaining a garbled video thing is difficult to do in words...without seeing the footage.
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2007, 06:11 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 111
Cole, I'd be glad to give you a call to discuss it! My dime!

I've exported the sequence to a QT movie... and in the movie it still snags and is pixelated.
When I put it on a DVD thru DVDSP, it makes me cringe it is so bad. Rarely are there smooth parts in the video.
Colby Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2007, 03:58 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 111
Update!

First... a HUGE thanks to Cole McDonald who was gracious enough to let a complete stranger call him and take up 30 minutes of his day to pick his brain about this issue. This is what makes this board so great: People helping people and going out of their way to do so. Thanks again Cole!!

Alrighty... the issue was the playback of my project in FCP. When burned to a DVD, it looked awful. It's a dance recital and the movements looked VERY choppy & pixelated.

From FCP, I exported it as a self-contained movie, imported into DVDSP... and the result was garbage.

So... after a week or 2 and many Corona's utilized to kill my weaker brain cells, I decided to export my sequence using Compressor. After 3.7 hours of that, I imported it into DVDSP and 30 minutes later: THE DVD IS PERFECT!

(Perfect by my standards, anways.)

This was very odd. I had edited another dance recital and wedding using the same work flow: FCP -> QT movie -> DVDSP... with NO PROBLEMS. And now this? Anyone have any clue as to why this happened?
Colby Knight is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network