Quicktime vs Flash Web Delivery Streaming at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > Flash / Web Video


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 28th, 2009, 11:36 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,555
Quicktime vs Flash Web Delivery Streaming

I currently use Flash to deliver sample videos on my site. Movies won't play until its completely downloaded. From what I understood I'd need to host it on a streaming server to get this feature (which I can't afford). Would Quicktime allow playing the movie as it downloads or would this also need a streaming server? Btw, I know I could embed a youtube or vimeo but I like being able to control the compression/quality/size.
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2009, 12:09 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NYC Metro area
Posts: 579
It doesn't have to be a streaming server.

I use Flash for progressive dl almost exclusively (with rare use of QT)...and I've done hundreds of web videos. They work fine for all except those with slow connections/dialup.

(Pick a link from here: Ad Hoc Video Services, LLC. - Equine - Barrel Racing Video)

I had to go through a few trial & error sessions, and needed help from someone more knowledgeable in HTML than me, but I eventually got it to work pretty well. Unfortunately, I only know pretty basic HTML.

Are you embedding the Flash player in your HTML? I believe Flash can actually create the HTML you need, but it may need some tweaking.
__________________
Denis
------------
Our actions are based on our own experience and knowledge. Thus, no one is ever totally right, nor totally wrong. We simply act from what we "know" to be true, based on that experience and knowledge. Beyond that, we pose questions to others.
Denis Danatzko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2009, 12:27 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,555
Dennis so if I hearing you right its just a setting that I need to change and it should work. Boy that would be great.

This is the video I was talking about. [CreationDream.com - Peter Cofrancesco - Freelance Web Designer] Its hosted by Host Gator which is a decent provider.
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2009, 12:56 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NYC Metro area
Posts: 579
Checking something in my process now.

It may be a Flash setting and not an HTML setting.

Basically, my process is:
- edit in Adobe CS2
- Export to Adobe Media Encoder as Flash (flv)
- create a Flash document with correct size parameters
- Import Video (Pick a skin in this step).
- Save the Flash doc
- Make my 'Publish Settings'
- Publish
- Upload the .flv and .swf after prepping the HTML.
In the 'Publish Setting' window, check the 'HTML tab' for 'Playback Options'. I switch these based on the video I'm uploading:
'Paused at start' = usually unchecked; depends on the clip and what page I've placed it in.
'Loop' = usually checked
'Display menu' = always checked
'Device font' = never used/changed it; usually unchecked

It may be those playback settings, but I'm not positive. It's worth checking.

(FWIW, I also go to the 'Flash' tab in 'Publish Settings' and make sure I've checked the 'Protect from import' box. My understanding is, that makes it a little harder for the video to be copied. (Just remember that the next time you go to work with the same Flash doc, you may have to uncheck that box to make further adjustments. I forget off top of my head, but you may not be able preview the Flash while that box is checked).

Regrets for my inability to be more specific. I just don't know HTML that well.

BTW, that's a lively video. There was a time when I had as much energy as the dancers...those were the days.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Denis
------------
Our actions are based on our own experience and knowledge. Thus, no one is ever totally right, nor totally wrong. We simply act from what we "know" to be true, based on that experience and knowledge. Beyond that, we pose questions to others.
Denis Danatzko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2009, 01:08 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NYC Metro area
Posts: 579
Here's some HTML that may help.

AFAIK, this code is freely available at a variety of web sites. It's what I originally got to work, though since then, my HTML guru gave me a way to use php. It's now less cumbersome, but if you don't upload lots of files like me, that may not be necessary.

<object classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000" codebase="http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=8,0,0,0" width="360" height="240" id="myvideoname" align="middle">
<param name="allowScriptAccess" value="sameDomain" />
<param name="wmode" value="transparent">
<param name="movie" value="myvideoname.swf" />
<param name="quality" value="high" />
<param name="bgcolor" value="#000000" />
<embed src="myvideoname.swf" quality="high" bgcolor="#000000" width="360" height="240" wmode="transparent" name="myvideoname" align="middle" allowScriptAccess="sameDomain" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" />
</object>

where:
myvideoname = the name of your .flv and .swf files. (I'm pretty sure you run into problems if each is not the same name).
width and height = the dimensions used when you created the Flash document.

Hope this helps.
Good luck.
__________________
Denis
------------
Our actions are based on our own experience and knowledge. Thus, no one is ever totally right, nor totally wrong. We simply act from what we "know" to be true, based on that experience and knowledge. Beyond that, we pose questions to others.

Last edited by Denis Danatzko; February 28th, 2009 at 01:09 PM. Reason: missed a value for a variable
Denis Danatzko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2009, 01:13 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,555
thx for the help guys. I'll try the code tonight at get back with the results. gotta run now.
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2009, 12:31 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,555
I got streaming working. I needed to re-encode the movie and enable streaming. One small qwerk now is the poster frame displays first then a couple of seconds later the FLVplayback interface is displayed. I'm sure why it doesn't appear all at once.
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > Flash / Web Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:33 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network