Windows media brightens too much at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > Flash / Web Video


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 24th, 2004, 02:13 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
Windows media brightens too much

Hi,

I really like the Windows Media Encoder 9 - BUT, I think it brightens the video too much. Haven't found any setting for the encoder to change brightning-level.

Am I alone having this problem?

http://www.sidens.se/malar.wmv

Here I darkened the video prior to encoding it... the result is OK - 5.8mb file for 1.44 minute video at 15fps ... quality is above average for web-video at least in my opinion :-)

// Lazze \\

One more thing - what's your feeling about microsofts MJPEG 4 v2 encoder?
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2004, 03:10 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
How did you export this exactly? Did you load up the file in the
standalone encoder or did you export from an NLE?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2004, 05:47 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
I used the stand alone MS Media Converter program.

It's real tricky making the judgement for web video... quality or size.. viewing size... is it going to be viewed on CRT or TFT...
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2004, 05:55 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
It definitely is and therefore you can never really get it right. It
will look different on all systems. I haven't used the WM encoder
myself so I don't know it does, doesn't do or how you can
influence it, but it sure does sound strange it would brighten it.

Perhaps this is due to some automatic settings that tries to
level the exposure or something? (just a wild guess).

Otherwise you might try a WM export from your NLE.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2004, 10:08 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
I have had this exact same problem with the Windows Media Encoder 9 series. I can't remember having it when I export from within Premiere Pro v1, though.

Christopher
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > Flash / Web Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:08 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network