FS-CF Audio drops out, picture freezes at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Focus Enhancements FireStore

Focus Enhancements FireStore
Specifically for the FireStore DV Direct-To-Edit Disk Recording Solutions.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 28th, 2010, 05:36 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: West Orange, NJ, U.S.
Posts: 163
FS-CF Audio drops out, picture freezes

Hi everyone,

Just used my FS-CF for the first time at a wedding and, luckily, I shot to tape as well. I was wondering if anyone knows what's going on here.

I'm using the unit with an XH-A1s and it looked like everything was working fine. When I hit record on the camera, the FS-CF started right up.

Now I've downloaded some to my computer and about 3 or 4 seconds into each clip, the picture freezes and the audio stops. This frozen shot will stay for almost half a clip, then the picture will start up again, and then the audio pops back in for the last 3 or 4 seconds of the clip.

Before the gig, I chose the recording mode "retro cache" thinking that meant the unit would include stuff that happened right before I hit "record" on the camera. Before today, I think all the test clips I shot with this were fine.

Is that the problem or has my new unit gone blotto? I can post screens of the M2T file in Vegas if it will help.

EDIT: I wanted to add a few more bits of info here in case it helps someone to figure out what might be going on. While a vast majority of the clips exhibit the crummy behavior, a few do play correctly all the way through - though not many at all. Also, some play the picture all the way through but the audio drops out.

The bad clips came from two seperate cards (both transcend 400X 32GB CF) so I'm thinking both cards can't be bad. I was hoping the first one I looked at was just a piece of crap card. I worked in all environments, inside in the AC, outside in the 80* sun, in the shade. Even the first clips I shot in the day were bad so I'm guessing it's not environmental.

Thanks much!

Last edited by Mike Hammond; August 28th, 2010 at 06:34 PM.
Mike Hammond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2010, 08:41 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Columbus USA
Posts: 282
I noticed some frame skipping/freezing when I viewed my files after importing them FCP7.
When I checked the raw QT files, they played smoothly.
haven't exported the FCP files to DVD to see if the artifacts really do exist or if they were just something happening in FCP.
Ed Roo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2010, 06:34 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: West Orange, NJ, U.S.
Posts: 163
My files are definitely screwed up. I even watched them straight from the card into the computer, so I bypassed Vegas to try them out.
Mike Hammond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2010, 01:22 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Rochester, NH
Posts: 24
Mike,

Are you using the FS-CF Pro or the FS-CF? I didn't think the FS-CF version supported "retro cache".

Greg
Greg Gerber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2010, 02:15 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 261
Format the cards in the cf unit
Run test footage
I had some issues with footage I lost, only test footage but lost none the less.
These units have certain card speed that you need to use
I have not run into this again but play it safe!
Mestizo Devon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2010, 07:39 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: West Orange, NJ, U.S.
Posts: 163
Hi Greg,

Yes, I'm using the FS-CF. It does have retro-cache (though I haven't figured out how to set it up yet - too damn busy). The CF is supposed to be the FS-H200 exactly, except that it supports all the Canon frame rates.

Mestizo,

I always formatted the cards in the unit. Never had the problem until I selected retro cache as a recording option. Once I took that off (meaning no retor cahce option) everything is coming out fine.

I still would like to know if anyone has any ideas why selecting retro-cache might cause my problem.

Thanks!
Mike Hammond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2010, 02:09 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 261
Hmmm
I'll have to pay close attention to that
I'll give it a shot
Mestizo Devon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2010, 03:45 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Rochester, NH
Posts: 24
Hi Mike,

The fault could be caused by how the XH-A1s handles the HDV/.m2t file processing. (ie. starting and stopping with the record button plus a 2 to 4 second delay sending the signal down the firewire cable depending if the camera is paused or stopped.)

I have been wanting to test this with my FS-C.

I will test it right now.

Greg
Greg Gerber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2010, 07:53 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 261
mike,
I can confirm that the retro cache is screwing up the files
not all but some just will not open and play.
I used a 533x card
the quicktime wrapper and I control the fs-cf pro with my xha1s.
So not sure whats causing this?
Mestizo Devon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2010, 03:25 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Rochester, NH
Posts: 24
Mike & Mestizo,

XH-A1+FS-C+retro cache+tapeless=no dropped frames

XH-A1+tape+FS-C+retro cache=dropped frames

XH-A1 appears to interruping firewire signal when it starts recording to tape.

Greg
Greg Gerber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2010, 04:37 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 261
I wasn't using tape in my test, it was recorded only to the cf card
Mestizo Devon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2010, 11:59 AM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Rochester, NH
Posts: 24
Mestizo,

What camera are you using? Are all your settings set to tapeless on the FS-CF Pro?

Greg
Greg Gerber is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Focus Enhancements FireStore

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network