Vegas 8 or Premiere Pro CS3 ? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 24th, 2007, 08:48 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: LONDON
Posts: 178
Vegas 8 or Premiere Pro CS3 ?

Hi all....

What's the best option for editing HDV out of these two?

By best , I mean most stable, responsive and effective workflow.

I've never used Vegas btw...
Deniz Ahmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 10:36 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 325
Computer resource handling is far superior in Vegas. I have personally experienced plain DV footage on the timeline climb to over 700MB of RAM usage in PPro 1.5 - even worse (over 1.5GB!) as you move up to newer versions - with no special effects, CC etc having been applied - to me that is just sloppy programming. Vegas does more with less - and does it with very efficient resource management.

Plugins are PPro's strength - virtually none are available for Vegas. You can edit audio on the Vegas Timeline, you have to go to Audition or Soundbooth when working with PPro.

I was a vocal Adobe PPro user until I got tired of the out of memory error messages when using 4GB matched dual channel ram on my dual core AMD workstation. My Adobe Video Collection Suite Professional sits on the shelf collecting dust. Vegas Pro 8, Sound Forge 9, Cinescore 1.0, and Acid Pro 4 get used almost daily.

SONY's apps work flawlessly on 64 bit XP Pro - can't say that for Adobe's products.

If you're willing to wrap your head around the SONY Vegas Pro way of doing things, you'll find you are more productive unless you have a specific need that can't be met with SONY's apps.
__________________
Cliff Etzel - Photographer
Website | Blog
Cliff Etzel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 11:07 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 86
I have not used Vegas.

I use Premiere because I want the Cineform plug in and I want Blu-ray authoring with menus.
David Moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 11:17 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 991
I have been using Vegas since Version 5.. The last version of Premier Pro I used was much much more resource intensive and sluggish than Vegas..

To put it into perspective, Vegas makes the experience of working with videos like I'm working with a still image. Very very fast and responsive. Imagine playing your timeline and as it's playing, you can move the individual clips around or adjust a clip's speed all while the timeline is playing and your changes are reflected in the preview window in real-time along with the clip's audio.. amazing! Controlling the timeline with my Countor Design Jog/Shuttle is seamless and there is no noticeable delay.

Oh and did I mention that the above comments is in regards to running Vegas 7 on an "ancient" P4 3.2GHZ with 2GB RAM?
Yang Wen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 12:05 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wyomissing, PA
Posts: 1,141
Images: 57
While HDV itself is a processor intensive format, Vegas has the better implementation of proxy/resource usage to keep editing near realtime. Yes, you can bog it down to sloppy stuttering, but that would be many layers and effects ahead of PPro.

However, I'm using Prospect 2k, a $2000 premiere plugin with added investment of $1200 AJA capture card and $1500 studio monitor. I leave HDV to aquisition only.

Adobe just realeased a .1 patch for Premiere, which is supposed to address HDV. Someone else may chime in on that as to whether it's a fix or not, (I don't edit HDV).

Looking at the broader picture, I'm switching to a MacPro/FPC package. I'm not keen on adding issues with Vista upgrades and 64bit into the mix -I'd rather spend a little more on an NLE that was designed for specific hardware.
__________________
Pete Ferling http://ferling.net It's never a mistake if you learn something new from it.
-------------------------------------------
Peter Ferling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 12:13 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Frequently asked question. The usual answer: everyone has their own experiences, preferences, and opinions. The best way to answer such questions is to give the trial versions of the software apps a try and see if you like them. Trials are limited in certain ways, but should be enough to give you an idea if you'll like the app or not.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 12:41 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
I am running Vegas Pro 8 and Premiere Pro 2 on my system. It took a lot to get me to start looking at Vegas. lt had a different feel, and workflow, it seemed to me. In some ways, it seemed to simplified. I kept hearing raves about it, so I decided to force myself into using it for a couple of projects in June this year. Like anything, as I began to learn the program, I began to appreciated it more. Point is, when I start to fire up for a project now, I go to Vegas, even though I have Premiere there too... I have coupled it with NeoHDV from Cineform to give me an even better editing capability in HDV, but my experience with the Vegas 8 native HDV editing has been great too !

I'm afraid I paid for my last upgrade in Adobe Premiere,,,,,
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2007, 10:50 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: LONDON
Posts: 178
CINEFORM - is it needed?

As I understand from reading up Cineform is in part already built into Vegas. What advantage is there is using it with Vegas 8?

Also, is Cineform aspect HD with premiere a better experience overall?

Thank you
Deniz Ahmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2007, 11:30 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wyomissing, PA
Posts: 1,141
Images: 57
http://www.cineform.com/technology/H...ysis051011.htm
__________________
Pete Ferling http://ferling.net It's never a mistake if you learn something new from it.
-------------------------------------------
Peter Ferling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2007, 12:09 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 404
Currently evaluating Vegas 8a after being a Premiere user since version 4. Came across this article which I thought was excellent reading and what was really what got me to download the Vegas trial:

http://blogs.digitalmediaonlineinc.c...ntry/200704131
Kevin Janisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2007, 01:11 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 107
I'm using Vegas 8 to edit native HDV files. It works like a charm. After several hours it can tend to bog down, but I find this true for other apps as well.
Rob Gregory-Browne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2007, 09:55 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Janisch View Post
Currently evaluating Vegas 8a after being a Premiere user since version 4. Came across this article which I thought was excellent reading and what was really what got me to download the Vegas trial:

http://blogs.digitalmediaonlineinc.c...ntry/200704131
I found it interesting that the graphic displayed in this blog post includes a screenshot of "Cinelerra", and open-source Linux NLE http://heroinewarrior.com.

I have tried Cinelerra a number of times. It too had its roots in sound recording/mixing. unfortuantely it is just not up to scratch in many ways, and I found I could just never get that sense of confidence one needs when one is about to launch into a big project. Pity, because Linux needs a good NLE product. If only Vegas ran on Linux...
Mark Stavar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2007, 01:06 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bothell, Washington
Posts: 195
need for an intermediate codec with vegas 8?

I have a large number of wildlife tapes taken over the summer, and need to decide on a pc editing solution. i appreciate this forum. Vegas 8 seems to be more 'user friendly and intuitive' but do you need an intermediate codec like cineform 'avid' or can Vegas be used without one. bill
William Boehm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2007, 06:18 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 475
Mark,

I remember reading recently about someone successfully using Vegas on a Linux box under a windows emulator, If I can find that info I will post it. Not a pure Linux, but whatever works eh? ;-)
Bill Mecca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2007, 07:01 PM   #15
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 18
Vegas 8 user and plug ins

I've used Vegas since starting with Platinum a couple of years ago and am very happy with it. I upgraded to 7 and now 8 Pro and find it by far the best yet. I also use Boris Red 4.1 for titling, transitions, and effects; however most things can be done well in Vegas. Once you figure out Boris FX though, there is no going back. It is a great compositing program both in and out of Vegas.

I capture and edit HDV from my Sony HVR A1U with no problems at all (very stable) and I also edit my Panasonic AG-HVX 200 footage using the Raylight plugin from DVFilm (either straight from the MXF file or converted to a Raylight AVI - that makes it more portable to use in other programs).

Investigate the plugins from VASST as well. There is a wide range of products and training on their site. You can also find lots of how to videos on You Tube as well.

Vegas is often discounted as not a professional program. My opinion is simple, if you work that hard at this and sell enough jobs and edit them you will discover the day that you need an upgrade to Premiere, AVID or whatever is the hot thing at the moment. In the meantime, Vegas simply works well and gets the job done. Plus it has great audio tools (and incorporation with their other programs - I use Cinescore, Sound Forge, Acid Studio, and XMC and they all work effortlessly with Vegas).

I have some samples on my web site at www.newmediadevcorp.com that were all done on Vegas. I'm still no master, but I'm learning all the time and adding to my bag of tricks. I've been working on both a laptop (HP9060 with 2 gigs ram) and a cheap Compaq Desktop (1 gig) that is several years old. They both run Vegas well. Now that I am also doing more animation work, I just ordered the parts to build my first dedicated workstation (Intel Quad Core, 4 megs ram, NVidia Quadro FX1500 board). My point goes back to the previous paragraph - as you grow, you add to your capabilities as an editor and to run your business. I think if you start with too much you get overwhelmed and never really learn what you have (I just started with Maya 2008 and will find out if I've overstepped my mental abilities, for example).

As far as Premiere goes, I cuss everytime I open an Adobe product (yes, I am kidding). It seems like the Adobe products I use are all former something else... Dreamweaver, Flash 8 Pro, Serious Magic Ultra II, DV Rack HD, etc...). Adobe has amassed an incredible arsenal of products and sort of supports them. I just can't seem to bring myself to CS3 and dedicate myself to their workflow. I've got to have some independence somewhere! Fight the power! Get Vegas!
Mark Gervasoni is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:47 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network