Remote Video Editing at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 20th, 2008, 08:33 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 125
Remote Video Editing

I have been looking for a solution to edit AVCHD video while traveling without carrying around a full-fledged workstation PC for a long time now. I even contemplated to build one right into a carry-on luggage. Today I finally decided to experiment to access my newly built workstation (I called it Silent Screamer) using browser-based remote access software.
Read more here...
http://innomind.org/index.php?option...id=76&Itemid=1
__________________
Sincerely,

Renat Zarbailov of Innomind.org
Renat Zarbailov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2008, 08:59 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
Why not simply get a notebook built around a dual core processor?
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2008, 09:16 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert M Wright View Post
Why not simply get a notebook built around a dual core processor?
Will it be truly traveling light? Besides, getting a notebook that is fast enough to edit AVCHD or HDV approaches $4,000 mark. Building a fast workstation hovers around $1000-$1300
__________________
Sincerely,

Renat Zarbailov of Innomind.org
Renat Zarbailov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2008, 09:38 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
I would think something like this would work pretty nicely:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16834114437

That notebook is close to $1000 and only weighs about a pound and a half more than the M200. I've edited HDV on considerably less potent desktops.
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2008, 09:59 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert M Wright View Post
I would think something like this would work pretty nicely:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16834114437

That notebook is close to $1000 and only weighs about a pound and a half more than the M200. I've edited HDV on considerably less potent desktops.
Well, I am not planning to lug around the 4.4-pound Toshiba M200, let alone the one you listed above. The idea is to make traveling light. The remote access terminal would be sub $500 one-pound Asus Eee, the upcoming 8GB hard drive version one with a 9" screen and Win XP OS. So, in the field there are only two items to carry, an AVCHD camcorder, in my case Sony HDR-SR7, and a one-pound Eee notebook.
__________________
Sincerely,

Renat Zarbailov of Innomind.org
Renat Zarbailov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2008, 12:18 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
Now I understand. I got the impression you were using the M200 as your remote terminal. I was looking at the Asus Eee recently, wishing it had a firewire port, so it could be used as flash memory recording device (for HDV) that could be mounted on my DVMultiRig Pro, or even on camera and also provide a nice 7" 800x480 monitor (delayed picture, but still quite useful).
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2008, 01:19 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert M Wright View Post
Now I understand. I got the impression you were using the M200 as your remote terminal. I was looking at the Asus Eee recently, wishing it had a firewire port, so it could be used as flash memory recording device (for HDV) that could be mounted on my DVMultiRig Pro, or even on camera and also provide a nice 7" 800x480 monitor (delayed picture, but still quite useful).
If the Eee has a PCMCIA slot then you can use a firewire PCMCIA card for your setup...
__________________
Sincerely,

Renat Zarbailov of Innomind.org
Renat Zarbailov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2008, 02:46 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
Unfortunately, there's no PCMCIA slot either.
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2008, 09:11 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
I've been looking for something like the Eee, that has a firewire port or PCMCIA. I want something that is about the size of the Eee, has at least that resolution on the same (ore close to same) size LCD display, and has a slot for either CF or SCHC cards. I don't want it to have a hard drive (to heavy and sucks power).

If anyone knows of something like that, at a reasonable price, please let me know. I could build a device like that from parts, but it would be slightly bigger, not as neatly integrated, and cost twice as much.
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network