PLease help me... rescue my HD soul... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 29th, 2003, 08:18 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: ho chi minh city, vietnam
Posts: 22
PLease help me... rescue my HD soul...

Hi... i am new in the HD field...

Actually my brother bought a HD cam for me as my x'mas gift... unfortunately no matter what i input, the computer keep on telling me my serial number is wrong...

I understand that the serial number is very sensitive with the case... but now matter what i try, the computer just keep on ignoring me... i try to email JVC for further assistants... but no reply for 3 days already...

Please help me... cause i really want to try to edit my first HD content...

is all the serial number the same? my serial number is:
[removed by board admin]

What wrong with my disk...

By the way, why JVC make it so hard for the user on the serial number... i means, in the market now, only them have the HD cam, and the main reason for us to use it is to edit the HD content... for normal 480i content... i bet anyone will not dare to touch their software... or are they so good... that's make other look BAD????

Edmond

P.S. any input will be appreicate, i live in Vietnam... there are no JVC representative in here... help... help... help... help...
Edmond Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2003, 08:54 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,707
Edmond, I remember inputing the serial number and not being able to get it to work too.

I don't remember exactly what it was, but you need to replace certain numbers or letters with their corrosponding opposites. So, the number 0 would be the letter 0 or likewise.

Murph
__________________
Christopher C. Murphy
Director, Producer, Writer
Christopher C. Murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2003, 09:03 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: ho chi minh city, vietnam
Posts: 22
Thanks Chris...

I already try to reverse the letter "O" to number 0... or number 1 to capital "I" or low case "l" since there only one letter O and one number 1 on the serial number... all 6 combinations already try...

Or is there any other number that i am missing...

God... why JVC make it so hard for us???? Is there any easter egg save inside this puzzle serial game???

Edmond
Edmond Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2003, 11:01 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,707
I remember what to do - try this:

Use a small "l" as in LARRY and NOT "1" as in number 1.

They look similar on the JVC label, but are different.

Murph
__________________
Christopher C. Murphy
Director, Producer, Writer
Christopher C. Murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2003, 02:45 PM   #5
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Call JVC's tech support. Many of the questions asked on this board can be fixed with JVC's vast knowledge base. I had the same problem, but when it was fixed, I learned that the software really stinks.

Please post JVC's answers (or your own solutions) onto the board!

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2003, 04:50 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Ha ha... that reminds me of 20 years ago when we first got a computer for our department secretary and had her input a mailing list. Then we couldn't understand why zip code sorts wouldn't work.... until we looked closer and found that she had typed a lowercase "L" for the 1 and an uppercase "O" for the zero, just like she had always done on her typewriter! Maybe she's working for JVC now? ;-)
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2003, 04:50 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 351
I think that JVC is closed until the 5th.

I didn't have any trouble installing the software.

Sorry to not be of much help

DBK
__________________
Darren Kelly
Darren Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2003, 05:29 PM   #8
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Please do NOT post entire serial numbers for software or hardware to these message boards -- thanks,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2003, 12:16 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: ho chi minh city, vietnam
Posts: 22
Thanks Murphy,

Yes... you are right... the problem is the number "1" change to lower case of letter "L"... and the program start installation...

But second problem come up... i need to have a IEEE1394 cable... at first i thought the USB cable is the one to use... but after study the manuel... i find out that the so-called IEEE1394 cable is a optinal items... Why it is optional... for almost USD 3k... it is optional for one small cable???

Anyway... i need to run down to the electric store today to pick-up one IEEE1394 cables... My old one sell it to a guy along with my SONY PD-150 a week ago...

Once again, thanks a million... this site is really help...

(I do make a lot of email to JVC, but none is reply back... maybe it is X'mas... anyway... who knows?)

Edmond
Edmond Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2003, 10:33 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,707
Edmond,

No problem with helping you - our pleasure. Just hang around and help others when you can...it's a give and take here. This place site works great because people exchange information freely and amazingly in a timely fashion. I've gotten answers to tough questions within a minute...it's better than paid support from all the companies we deal with!

Murph
__________________
Christopher C. Murphy
Director, Producer, Writer
Christopher C. Murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2004, 11:47 PM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: ho chi minh city, vietnam
Posts: 22
Now... i have problem on HD capture...

I already install the HD capture program...
then i use the IEEE1394 to contact the Cam & Computer...
the output is set at MPEG2... (I also try the DVI)
but the HD capture program does not detact the sources...

as the written document indicates,
the HD capture go to the import mode...
then you can choose at the top...
but i saw nothing on the top... what am i done wrong???

Ed
Edmond Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2004, 12:05 AM   #12
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Man, sounds like a typical JVC software problem. Anyone care to field this??

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network