Help With HDV Capture at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 29th, 2008, 03:53 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 29
Help With HDV Capture

Hi guys, I was just wondering, can I capture HDV from my GY-HD101E by using a Blackmagic Intensity?

Blackmagic Intensity


Thanks in advance to any replies!
John Preston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2008, 08:46 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
You need the Intensity Pro for direct connection to the camera as it has the analog "jack pack" breakout. If you have the JVC ProHD VTR, you can use the HDMI out of the deck into the regular Intensity.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2008, 11:14 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 29
Thanks so much for the reply!!

So if I order the Intensity Pro, I will be able to capture from my GY-HD101E?

And will this capture be superior to capturing from a regular Firewire card?

Thanks again, much appreciated!
John Preston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2008, 04:39 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Superior from a technical image standpoint? No. Whatever you've captured to tape is as good (or as bad) as it gets (unless you're talking about capturing live "on the fly" instead of from tape). In terms of getting unbroken clips into your edit bay, yes.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2008, 02:03 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 2,207
I was thinking about an Intensity Pro card to capture directly "on the fly" from my HD110 in hopes of getting better chroma than m2t will deliver - but then I realized that this would entail a D to A conversion in the camera and another A to D conversion on the card.

So far I haven't been able to convince myself to spend the money on the Intensity card given the above.
Jim Andrada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2008, 01:57 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,158
the A<>D conversions really aren't significant, at least not compared to what is already done via the Mpeg2 compression.
Steve Oakley is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:36 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network