We are going to test one! ... your questions needed - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 5th, 2005, 10:41 PM   #31
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim R Young
The only problem we could find was when we put the camera up to 18db of gain one side of the screen was darker than the other and slightly discoloured ... maybe just a problem with this particular camera but might be worth watching out for??

Thanks,

Tim
Have a look at my post http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...t=48851&page=2. I'm beginning to think this is not a coincidence. Was one side of the screen showing red noise?
Was there any dead pixels after putting in gain?
Scott Webster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2005, 01:30 AM   #32
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 13
capture to hard drive?

Tim posted: "We were told that the component HD output was actually superior to the recorded material. In other words 50 frames could be taken from the output when only 25 frames were recorded to the tape".

Is there some way we can capture these 50 frames to a hard drive or ?
I am sorry if this is answered somewhere else, I vaguely remember some posts awhile back but ...
Thanks,
Stephen
Stephen Barries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2005, 01:36 AM   #33
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 53
There has been talk about the firestore being able to record the 50 frames but havn't seen anything in writing yet.
Sean Livingstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2005, 03:02 AM   #34
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
The FireStore will not be able to record anything that the tape can't record. It won't be possible for the FireStore to record the 720/50p or 720/60p modes.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2005, 05:46 AM   #35
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 53
oh ok so what would you need then?
Sean Livingstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2005, 02:22 PM   #36
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
You cannot record the 50p mode unless you have some sort of analog uncompressed HD capture station. That's going to mean something that can write and store at least 167 megabytes per second(!), and that's just for 8-bit quality. If you want it quantized at 10 bit, you'll need more like 200 megabytes per second.

That's going to mean a RAID of hard disks, probably at least six. And a fast enough computer to handle the throughput. And an HD capture card. And that's all going to be expensive -- a wild guess says maybe $15,000. And it's not going to be portable at all -- this is going to be a desktop station.

And, on top of that, you'll need enough storage, because a gigabyte will only get you about 5 seconds of footage.

In other words, trying to record the uncompressed analog 50p output is pretty much fantasy. It ain't gonna happen, for the vast, vast, vast majority of circumstances.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2005, 07:42 PM   #37
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
Barry, you pretty much described what is often called 'The Video Village' when directors are using HD to make a movie. They mount them on something with wheels (usually a dark tent on a platform).

Seems like an powerful inverter (at least 3K) and a good sized deep cycle battery(at least 100 amp hrs) to keep it mobile.
Joe Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2005, 02:25 AM   #38
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 76
Images: 2
Not something you can mount on your camera then. ;-)
Martin Costa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2005, 06:34 AM   #39
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 414
That's certainly true of capturing it uncompressed. However, is there a codec you could capture in that would allow you to use say a laptop with some type of converter and a couple external drives? Could you capture it as DVCPRO HD?

I suppose in that case you could just run it to a deck, huh? So if you've already got a deck, or if you need it on an occasional basis, you could rent and still not feel like you're over doing it for a 1/3" HDV cam, huh?
__________________
Kevin Dooley
Media Director, Pantego Bible Church
Kevin Dooley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2005, 04:36 PM   #40
suspended -- contact admin
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 214
All you need to capture the 50 or 60 frames per secound is an HD-SDI converter that runs around 3000 dollars. Also JVC sells an MPEG-2 encoder for 30,000 dollars that can handle 720p60 so you don't have to record it to the hard drive in an uncompressed format.
Tommy James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2005, 01:48 AM   #41
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy James
All you need to capture the 50 or 60 frames per secound is an HD-SDI converter that runs around 3000 dollars.
No, all that will do is convert the analog signal to HD-SDI. You still need a RAID of hard disks to be able to capture that.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2005, 08:07 AM   #42
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
To add to Barry's comment, that's where the real bucks come in, because you'll need a RAID of at least 8 drives, 10 is better. Plus the controller. On another forum, there is a guy with a 6 drive, 15k spin drive speed RAID, who says it's working great, but I'm personally a little frightened of the faster speed drive systems.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2005, 08:56 AM   #43
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,719
You can capture to other codecs that take up less space but you still need a desktop computer and currently it only works with Apple. With a Decklink card you can take a converted SDI output and capture to DVCPro HD which would work on normal harddrives. This would at least get rid of the need for a massive amount of expensive hard drives. You will still need a component to SDI converter.

No laptop out there has any type of SDI inputs so this will never work. Firewire is out of the question because of the encoder inside of the HD100. In order for a HDV signal to be sent via firewire it has to be encoded and the problem with the HD100 is that the encoder just cannot encode 50 or 60 frames per second. The best you will ever get from firewire and the HD100 is 24,25 or 30 fps.

On the PC side you could go with Prospect HD from Cineform. This again would still need a desktop but would allow you to capture almost uncompressed using the high quality Cineform codec and only taking up around as much as 20 MB/s which might still work on a fast normal hard drive.
Thomas Smet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2005, 05:53 PM   #44
suspended -- contact admin
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 214
The problem with the JVC encoder is that it costs 30,000 dollars. So with an HD-SDI converter and a wireless router you can import uncompressed video into a desktop have it encoded using the DVC Pro HD codec and store it on a regular harddrive ?
Tommy James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2005, 08:39 PM   #45
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 53
This might seem very green, but all I would need to capture/Edit 60p is a HD-SDI convertor and computer system that could say run Cinform ProspectHD?
Sean Livingstone is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:46 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network