Possible in camera Flip-flop?? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 18th, 2005, 05:27 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 91
Possible in camera Flip-flop??

Is it possible to flip flop(mirror left and right) or rotate the image 180 degrees with the HD100 during recording??

Thanks
Anders Floe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2005, 07:42 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anders Floe
Is it possible to flip flop(mirror left and right) or rotate the image 180 degrees with the HD100 during recording??

Thanks
You must want to use a micro35? The LCD flips top/bottom when it is put into reverse mode, so you could probably use a small magnet to trick the sensor like on other cameras.

Interestingly, there is a LCD L/R option in the ADVANCED MENU - but I'm not certain of its purpose and I haven't tested it.


Either way, the image off the sensors stays "normal" when recorded to tape, so you would have to flip or flop in post.
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2005, 11:17 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 91
Well, it was the "do it in post" that I wanted to avoid. I really can't understand why there isn't any simple way of doing this. Alot of projectors and monitors can easily rotate the image. Isn't there any capture program out there which can capture HDV rotated 180 degrees without quality loss and the need of rendering??? Isn't it just a question of somehow getting the camera or the computer to read the pixelrows from the oppesite side?

Thanks.
Anders Floe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2005, 12:28 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
All the CineForm products added 180 degree rotation upon capture several months ago -- we partnered with Redrock Micro to add this support. Check out (Aspect HD or Connect HD for HDV support.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2005, 12:34 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 91
It seems like just the thing I need. Does it work on a mac?
Anders Floe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2005, 12:57 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Sorry, Apple can't (yet) support the kinds or acceleration and processing using by the CineForm products. Look into LumiereHD to see if they can help you.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2005, 03:12 PM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman
Sorry, Apple can't (yet) support the kinds or acceleration and processing using by the CineForm products. Look into LumiereHD to see if they can help you.
Even on a Quad G5 at 76 Gigaflops?
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2005, 03:30 PM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Yep -- even with large numbers of meaningless significance. :) The issue is not processing speed, it is the architecture of Final Cut Pro that doesn't allow for the type of third party acceleration we build. We have discussed that with Apple technical people -- so we have our fingers crossed. I figure they that will fix this issue, but they will be on the Intel processor by then.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2005, 06:05 PM   #9
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 868
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman
Yep -- even with large numbers of meaningless significance. :) The issue is not processing speed, it is the architecture of Final Cut Pro that doesn't allow for the type of third party acceleration we build. We have discussed that with Apple technical people -- so we have our fingers crossed. I figure they that will fix this issue, but they will be on the Intel processor by then.

Is that code for it doesn't support Direct X?
John Mitchell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2005, 06:25 PM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Mitchell
Is that code for it doesn't support Direct X?
We don't use too much DirectX, so no, the issue with FCP support for RT 10-bit HD is more complex than that.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:27 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network