Menu Locked, Menu Unlocked at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 5th, 2006, 01:20 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Menu Locked, Menu Unlocked

I don't know what I did to cause this but now I cannot access the menu anymore. I press the Status button for a second or more and I get a message in the center of the LCS that says "MENU LOCKED".
I can't find any info in the manual, anybody has a clue on how to unlock the menu?

TIA

--
Paolo
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 01:53 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
??? I have no clue. This is the first I've ever heard of this!
I would call JVC first thing tomorrow.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 01:56 PM   #3
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Wow, I couldn't find that in the manual either. Ideas, anybody?
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 01:57 PM   #4
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Good idea, Tim. Paolo shoot me an email and I'll get a JVC contact for you on Monday.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 03:44 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd
Good idea, Tim. Paolo shoot me an email and I'll get a JVC contact for you on Monday.
Thank you Chris and Tim, I will call JVC tomorrow. BTW, in pure desperation I tried several button combinations and found that if I press "User 3" and then the "Status" button, holding for a second, I get access to the menu. I can change the settings as usual but the menu is still locked if I try to use the Status button alone.

--
Paolo
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 07:22 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,896
Paolo,
When you got into the menu, did you try to reset to factory settings?
Steven Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 08:03 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Thomas
Paolo,
When you got into the menu, did you try to reset to factory settings?
Yes, and it didn't solve the problem.

--
Paolo
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 08:12 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 589
Paolo,

I have no idea how to unlock it, but if you ever find out how you locked it in the first place please let us know, that could come in handy.
__________________
Our eyes allow us to see the world - The lens allows others to see the world through our eyes.
RED ONE #977
Daniel Patton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 09:40 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Patton
Paolo,
I have no idea how to unlock it, but if you ever find out how you locked it in the first place please let us know, that could come in handy.
Believe me, I tried to re-create all the combinations of buttons I could have pressed before this happened and I cannot figure it out.
I will post the combo as soon as I get it, this has potential to mess your day up :)
Quite interesting to stumble upon an undocumented feature of our camera.

--
Paolo
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 11:03 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Solved!

You know why hackers are sucessful? Because we can't stop :), we are obsessive people, always thinking "I can solve this".
If you think that the thought of messing thing up even more was a deterrent you are very much mistaken :)
Inpired by the results of the Oscars I tackled the problem with rejuvinated energy and here are the secret combinations, the undocumented feature that JVC deemed to dangerous to put in the manual
Try this at your own risk and for your own amusement but don't email me if you get locked out of your camera :)

Lock the menu: Press User 1 + Stop button. Hold it for about 2-3 seconds. The display will show "MENU LOCKED".
Unlock the menu: Press User 1 + User 3 + Stop button. Hold it for 2-3 seconds. The display will show "MENU UNLOCKED"

In locked position you can access the menu by pressing simultaneously "User 3" + Status button.

I guess this is a safety device and indeed something that could be usefull if you want to be sure that nobody is gonna mess with your settings or that something gets moved by accident.

Sticky note? ;)

--
Paolo
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 11:10 PM   #11
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Stickied. Congrats, Paolo! Very helpful to know.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 11:26 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd
Stickied. Congrats, Paolo! Very helpful to know.
Thank you Chris.

--
paolo
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 10:04 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 589
Agreed, congrats Paolo! And thanks for the cool feature.

Now, while you are hacking can you get the camera to support 720/60P to tape! j/k
__________________
Our eyes allow us to see the world - The lens allows others to see the world through our eyes.
RED ONE #977
Daniel Patton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 10:40 AM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,896
Good news Paolo.

Hmm.. This could be a good feature to keep others from dicking with your settings.

But, I'm a bit scared to try it :)

Steve
Steven Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 10:49 AM   #15
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Patton
Agreed, congrats Paolo! And thanks for the cool feature.

Now, while you are hacking can you get the camera to support 720/60P to tape! j/k
And maybe LCD and VF on at the same time!!!
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:23 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network