Using the DR-HD100, some help please? - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 6th, 2006, 08:54 PM   #16
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 38
thanks all!

Thanks for the help, Tim, and everyone else.
I figured out the main problem.
the first DTE I took out of the box actually had firmware v. 1.9. Even though I purchased it on Friday, December 1, and thought I had updated the firmware, it was still running v. 1.9.

I took the 2nd DTE out of the box and it was running the v. 2.0 firmware, and I had no problem seeing and configuring the HDD to HDV and QT.

Now, I have another issue, which Matt and Focus are working on.

I recorded to tape and DTE simultaneously, and of the 12 clips recorded/captured, only 2 of them will playback or import into FCP.
Since we are very near Focus, they are going to check out the DTE and see if they can figure out what's up.
Meanwhile, we just captured via the backup tape. We lost about 7 seconds at the head of each clip, but we prerolled at least 10 seconds, so we are in good shape.

I appreciate everyone's help!

bt

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Dashwood
BT,

I put together a little tutorial that should help you configure your DR-HD100 for 720P30 capture and encapsulation to Quicktime HDV.

You have to select "HD RECORDER" to get to the HD FORMATS menu.

http://www.timdashwood.com/DRHD100

Good luck with your shoot.
BT Corwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2006, 06:17 AM   #17
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Dashwood
The simple answer is that Focus couldn't write the 25P firmware until Apple released the 5.1.2 update with 25P support.
Now that it has been released I'm sure they are working on it. Sign up for the alert on their website and they will send you an email whenever they release updates.

Don't expect 720P50 or 720P60 functionality in the DR-HD100 until after Apple eventually releases an update to FCP that supports these formats in HDV.
It took so long for FCP 5.1.2 to be released that chances are we won't see anything new for FCP until NAB07.
That sounds pretty logical! Thanks.

...and that's a good tutorial you made!
Marc Jayson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2006, 04:11 AM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Dashwood
BT,

I put together a little tutorial that should help you configure your DR-HD100 for 720P30 capture and encapsulation to Quicktime HDV.

You have to select "HD RECORDER" to get to the HD FORMATS menu.

http://www.timdashwood.com/DRHD100

Good luck with your shoot.
Tim,

Any chance you could post a work flow for people like myself who only really shoots 24p and wants to edit in FCP?

Thanks
__________________
Visit me and my work at www.artofduke.com
Brian Duke is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network