Audio & picture go out of sync on long shots at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 21st, 2006, 11:20 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,158
Audio & picture go out of sync on long shots

so is anyone else seeing this -

I have been shooting a doc with some long interviews, often 20-35 minutes of continuos run. 720P30 DF TC, FCP5.0.4, QT7.1.3, 2.5G G5. any clip thats long, over 10 minutes will somewhere about 1/2 way in simply go from in sync to out of sync. more bizzare is that when in play, FCP displays the *wrong* picture. its starts playing picture from another part of the clip. if you stop, it displays the correct picture. it happens at a specific spot in the clip and is repeatable in terms of playing the clip in the TL and it happens at the same spot every time. this is NOT a TC thing of DF vs NDF where FCP slowly goes out, its an exact frame. all this has happened multiple times across several tapes. the tape is fine. it seems to be a FCP problem. I have had this problem on two different machines, the other was a 533DP I was using as a capture station. I have the 5.1.2 updater but can't run it on my main capture machine because I need to sync projects with a another person who is stuck on FCP5.0.4 until apple fixes the boris RED transition failure - they have tons of boris transitions in their projects and can't work with out it. So I'm stuck.

My work around has been to play the long clips until they "go wild" and then re-capture from several seconds before the break to end of clip. The re-captured new clip will play in perfect sync against the original audio once I line it up based on TC. even the edit point where it goes from original clip to new clip is perfect. suggestions ? this is making life miserable. Already trashed FCP prefs BTW


Steve Oakley
Steve Oakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2006, 09:25 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Fort Worth TX
Posts: 69
Hey Steve, are the files going nuts in QT as well? Might help rule out camera vs FCP weirdness.

Try a capture with VirtualDVHS.
__________________
~~~Adam Oas~~~
www.TexasMotorSpeedway.com
Adam Oas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2006, 07:25 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,158
its FCP messing up. I checked the media files in movieplayer and they where perfect...


Steve Oakley
Steve Oakley is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:59 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network