White balance with PC TruColor v3 is green at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 28th, 2007, 06:47 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 203
White balance with PC TruColor v3 is green

I have been testing with the PC TruColor v3 setup file and find that white balance taken with a DSC white card or a Vortex Warm 1 or Warm 2 has a green shift.

Is this normal for the PC TruColor v3 setup? Does it need to use presets only, or do I have a camera problem?
George Strother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 01:08 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Strother View Post
I have been testing with the PC TruColor v3 setup file and find that white balance taken with a DSC white card or a Vortex Warm 1 or Warm 2 has a green shift.
White balance is not affected by the configuration file. It's another issue. Try using different configuration while keeping the same lighting and chart and you'll see. Be aware of the fact that if you store a config file that operation will also store the white balance at that moment. If you then white balance and then switch to the config file your whote balance will be reset to what it was when you save the configuration. In order to correctly test a scene file you need to load the file first and then set the white balance.
__________________
Paolo http://www.paolociccone.com
Demo Reel
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 11:48 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 203
Hi Paolo. Thanks for the note.

White and warm balance were performed after the file was loaded. This hasn't happened on other scene files, just TC3.

I like the overall look of TC3. I was only wondering if this green shift affected other HD100s, or just mine.
George Strother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 12:06 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: England
Posts: 88
.

I used it the other day on my 101E and the footage was green as well, didn't cause any problems in post though, there was loads and loads of detail to play with,white balance was also carried out after loading the file.
Ian Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 12:14 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 203
Thanks Ian, that's what I wanted to know. Maybe I should have mentioned that fixing it in post is cake. On set, it does freak the client out though.
George Strother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 01:09 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Just for the record: there is no green cast with TrueColor, not the way I made it. It would be silly to make a scene file that looks green just to fix it in post. Please double check your settings and verify the calibration of the camera using a vectorscope and appropriate chart. There can be variations to the camera that can cause the color matrix to react slightly differently, although this is the first time I hear about it. The whole point of TrueColor is to give the most neutral image acheivable with the HD100. TrueColor is not a "look" configuration but a way of preserving your data signal so that post work can be done with the maximum amount of information available.
The configuration has been tested on the field by myself on commerciale shots and endless interviews in a 3-camera setup and it never showed a green cast. Many people from this forum also used it and never reported anything like this. Keep in mind that TrueColor or any other scene made for the HD100 will not work with the HD200/250 series.
__________________
Paolo http://www.paolociccone.com
Demo Reel
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 01:47 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: England
Posts: 88
.

I double checked everything on the day of the shoot as I wasn't happy with the look but as it was a small shoot for myself it wasn't an issue, I tried other scene files and all seems fine with them, all as I would expect but the day of the shoot was quite horrible weather so it wasn't a day to be playing around really, I didn't mean to say it was normal the green cast just that it had happened to me also, since then I have been working alongside a PDX10 so have been running a scene file that matches in with that and have been a tad busy to go deeper into why this happened and as I have a 17" Panny monitor due to turn up any day I wasn't going to play till I could truly have a look at the output on that, the camera has been at JVC in the last year for updates, checked and passed with them and all other scene files look fine and the same as before the updates, I didn't have true color on the camera before then to say it is any different I'm afraid.


To be honest I thought that it must be a setting that was wrong but I couldn't find anything, now someone else has said the same thing I'll dive back in and triple check.

Thanks for the response Paolo, I'll see what I can discover.
Ian Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 02:48 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Never had a green cast with TC3 either. Sounds like a camera quirk.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 03:32 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 203
Probably a quirk in my camera, maybe Ian's.

Presets are fine, I never use FAW, but I checked it and it's fine too. WB taken from a DSC white card or Vortex Warm 1 or 2 goes green.

Change or just reset the file, re-white, everything is normal again.
George Strother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 06:37 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 126
I've used nothing BUT TC3 since I got my HD110 and I love it. I've never seen a green shade to it.
Brian Mills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 07:24 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Mills View Post
I've used nothing BUT TC3 since I got my HD110 and I love it. I've never seen a green shade to it.
You really should try some other scene files just to see what the camera is capable of.

keep shooting.
Stephen L. Noe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2007, 06:55 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Hohauser View Post
Never had a green cast with TC3 either. Sounds like a camera quirk.
Same here.
Mark Silva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2007, 10:14 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 217
Paolo, Is truecolorv3 trademarked? and to give you credit for using it do you have a logo?
PS Thanks for all the hard work in creating truecolorv3.
Joe Bowey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2007, 11:02 AM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Bowey View Post
Paolo, Is truecolorv3 trademarked? and to give you credit for using it do you have a logo?
PS Thanks for all the hard work in creating truecolorv3.
Hey Joe, good questions :). TrueColor is copyright Paolo Ciccone 2006-2007, it's not trademarked. If you want to give me credit it would be nice to add something like:

Camera Color Calibration: TrueColor (c) Paolo Ciccone

Thanks!
__________________
Paolo http://www.paolociccone.com
Demo Reel
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2007, 07:08 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Guatemala, Guatemala
Posts: 63
How can I get the Polo's TCv3?

How can I get the Paolo's Trucolor V3?
Thanks.
__________________
Saultv
Saul Martinez is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network