strange behaviour on HM-700 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems
GY-HM6xx, HM7xx and HM8xx ProHD camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 15th, 2012, 08:34 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
strange behaviour on HM-700

I was getting ready to do a multi-cam shoot yesterday (2 HM-750s and an HM-700) via HD-SI into a Tricaster) and the output of the 700 wasn't there upon power-up.
I could see it in the viewfinder but there was no output.
This is the second time this has happened to me so fortunately I knew how to fix it but am wondering if this has happened to anyone else.
I have to go into the camera menu, select my output format and press "Set", even though this was done the previous day during setup and the camera worked flawlessly for the first two shows.
I looked on the JVC site for any firmware updates but the most recent one is a few years old.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2012, 02:11 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Re: strange behaviour on HM-700

Hi, Mike.................

Don't know squat about JVC cameras, but have seen (on DVinfo) a few older cams from other manufacturers giving problems with "forgetting" settings.

Seems the latest (8 years or less) have a hardwired battery (?) on a PCB somewhere which requires "topping up" on a regular basis to keep settings in some sort of temporary memory (quite how or why has me foxed as I would have thought they'd use a slightly more robust backup system, but what the F^&%).

Try plugging the camera, with a battery on board (if possible, not possible with high end Canon) , but camera turned off, into a power adapter suitable for the cam, for 24 hours, or as much as you can manage, see if it makes any difference.

Apparently, whilst it doesn't charge the (attached, if there is one ) battery it "might charge the internal one".

Windsor, huh? Born and raised (till 6) in London, the Middlesex county bit, apparently. Haven't been back in well over 50 years, can't see it happening now, unfortunately.

Regards,

CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2012, 10:36 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Re: strange behaviour on HM-700

Chris, thanks for the suggestion. I'll give that a try when I can.
It happened again on Friday afternoon but on one of my 750s this time :(
I'm starting to think that it may be a problem with the Tricaster and not any of my cameras.
I've posted this question to a Tricaster forum and will report back any findings.

I'm originally from the north shore of Lake Superior but have called Windsor home since 1974.
I do miss summers that don't have temperatures and humidity that are both in the extremes.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:33 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network