Problem replaying HM100 audio in Soundbooth CS4 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HM 70/100/150 Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HM 70/100/150 Series Camera Systems
GY-HM70, HM100, HM150 recording AVCHD MP4 & QuickTime .MOV to SDHC cards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 3rd, 2009, 05:07 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 793
Problem replaying HM100 audio in Soundbooth CS4

I have just dropped a few mp4 clip from my HM100 into Soundbooth CS4. The clips import with no problem. The waveform is normal in parts, then it just maxes out filling the timeline with a rectangular block, all I get in these sections is the most horrendous hissing, crackling noise. then the waveform appears normal and plays back fine. There are several seemingly random blocks across the timeline, at these points all audio is lost, I just get awful noise. I have tried 4 clips. all with the same result. The same clips play back perfectely in Prem CS4, Vegas 9, Edius 5 and AVS audio editor. Any ideas appreciated.
Thanks
__________________
Colin
Colin Rowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2009, 11:54 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 152
I just tried two things:
1. In Soundbooth(2.0.1), I imported a 720 60p.mp4 clip into SB. It is only 1 minute, but no problems.

2. From within Premiere 4.1, did a "edit in soundbooth "extract Audio" on another mp4 clip and it opened and played fine in SB.

I am not sure what is going on. I have not modified my BPAV structure in any way.
Andy Urtusuastegui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2009, 07:41 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 793
Hey Andy.
Thanks for trying that out. I have just tested some more. I got to thinking it could be the new Rode NTG2 that I have recently been using on the HM100, but no, the mic is fine. I just shot some 720 clips using various mic set ups, as listed below.
1. JVC mic, supplied with HM100. Connected to input 1 with input 1 selected (going to both channels)
2. Rode NTG2 connected to input 1 with input 1 selected
3. JVC mic connected to input 1, Rode NTG2 connected to input 2 with input 2 selected.
Tested using phantom power, and phantom and battery power with the NTG1
All with the same noisy results, but only in Sound Booth. All the clips open and play back fine in. Prem CS4, Vegas Pro 9, Edius 5 and AVS audio Editor
Got me beat.
__________________
Colin
Colin Rowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2009, 08:21 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 793
This is strange. I just opened some older MP4 clips in SB, and guess what, they played back fine. Then opened all the clips described in the above post, and hey, they appear normal on the timeline and play back as they should. Seems something is amiss with my SB installation. Think I will try a reinstall to see if that will clear up the problem.
__________________
Colin
Colin Rowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2009, 07:32 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 27
Colin, it's not your Soundbooth installation.

I just experienced the same issue in Adobe Premiere Pro AND in Soundbooth, importing the file into each program separately. I've been happily playing just about all my video clips in Premiere with no issues at all, then suddenly this one clip had dreadful hissing and crackling at a very high volume. The audio waveform confirms this. Only parts of the clip have this problem. I checked the same clip on a totally different computer where I previously backed up a copy of the same file. The SAME problem occurs, so I know it's not the computer, nor is it Premiere or Soundbooth as it occurs in both those programs as I said before. Oddly, I can play this same clip with no issues at all in the JVC Clip Manager. So something is happening during the importing process. It must be an Adobe problem.

To resolve the issue, I had to re-encode the audio using VLC. Importing the re-encoded file into Premiere Pro works successfully.

So far all the clips that this problem has occurred with were recorded in 720p50 SP mode. I think it has something to do with the compression, though why the bad audio only manifests in Adobe programs is a total mystery to me.

Last edited by Anthony Shera; August 7th, 2009 at 08:45 AM.
Anthony Shera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2009, 08:45 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 793
[QUOTE=Anthony Shera;1191858]Colin, it's not your Soundbooth installation.

Your symtoms are identical to mine Anthony. I do think in my case it is a Soundbooth problem. All the affected clips play back perfectly normally in Premiere, Vegas 9, Edius 5, Clip Browser and AVS sound editor. Its only in Soundbooth that the problem shows. Just to add fuel to the problem, I just shot some 1080i footage, I normally shoot 720. The 1080i clips load and playback in Soundbooth with no problem. In my case it is the 720 and 1920 clips that Soundbooth has the problems with. But as I say these same clips load and play back perfectly in all the other programs. I am going to do some further tests today. I dont see it as a camera problem, If it was then the clips would display the same fault in any program. Definately a SoundBooth issue. Will report back with findings.
__________________
Colin
Colin Rowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2009, 09:26 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony Shera View Post
Colin, it's not your Soundbooth installation.

I just experienced the same issue in Adobe Premiere Pro AND in Soundbooth, importing the file into each program separately. I've been happily playing just about all my video clips in Premiere with no issues at all, then suddenly this one clip had dreadful hissing and crackling at a very high volume. The audio waveform confirms this. Only parts of the clip have this problem. I checked the same clip on a totally different computer where I previously backed up a copy of the same file. The SAME problem occurs, so I know it's not the computer, nor is it Premiere or Soundbooth as it occurs in both those programs as I said before. Oddly, I can play this same clip with no issues at all in the JVC Clip Manager. So something is happening during the importing process. It must be an Adobe problem.

To resolve the issue, I had to re-encode the audio using VLC. Importing the re-encoded file into Premiere Pro works successfully.

So far all the clips that this problem has occurred with were recorded in 720p50 mode.

I had the same issue with my EX1 60p footage I thought Sony had fix the problem in Sony Vegas 8c.. Shot a wedding last week and I had the same issue. imported the footage with cineform fixed the problemed audio.
Brian Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2009, 10:36 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colin Rowe View Post

Your symtoms are identical to mine Anthony. I do think in my case it is a Soundbooth problem. All the affected clips play back perfectly normally in Premiere, Vegas 9, Edius 5, Clip Browser and AVS sound editor. Its only in Soundbooth that the problem shows. Just to add fuel to the problem, I just shot some 1080i footage, I normally shoot 720. The 1080i clips load and playback in Soundbooth with no problem. In my case it is the 720 and 1920 clips that Soundbooth has the problems with. But as I say these same clips load and play back perfectly in all the other programs. I am going to do some further tests today. I dont see it as a camera problem, If it was then the clips would display the same fault in any program. Definately a SoundBooth issue. Will report back with findings.

I''m using CS4. Are you using the same? It appears, at least in my case, that the problem only manifests in 720p SP (compressed quality) footage. I rarely use this setting, though I wanted to see the quality output. (Visually, 720 SP mode seems very acceptable for scenes that don't involve a lot of detail.)

In my previous post, I contradicted myself when I said that it is not a Soundbooth or Premiere issue, and then later I said it's an Adobe problem. I'll correct that by saying it must be a Soundbooth AND a Premiere problem, at least in my situation. I don't know why you can play back your files with no issue in Premiere but not in Soundbooth.
Anthony Shera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2009, 05:25 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 793
Hi Anthony, yes I use Prem CS4. The Soundbooth problem is a strange one. It seems now that not all clips are effected, its got me beat!!!!
__________________
Colin
Colin Rowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2009, 01:59 PM   #10
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Brigachtal, Germany
Posts: 1
Hi guys,
I have the very same problem, while importing and playing in Premiere CS4.
In my case, it seems to independent of the resolution setting, even 1080iSP shows
the same problems, regardless of MIC configuration being used.

But is is only happening when recording in the MP format, when I try using the MOV format I don't have that problem at all.

One more thought, on which OS platform is this happening ?
I'm running Adobe Premiere CS4 on MAC OS 10.5.8, perhaps this is somehow depended
on the codec implementation in regards to the underlaying OS ?

For the moment my solution to get around this problem is to convert my MP4s before importing, using this tool http://www.mik-digital.de/tool/MP4toMPGv3.exe .

Hans
Hans-Juergen Goetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2010, 12:09 PM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alhaurin El Grande, Malaga, Spain
Posts: 15
Same Problem

Hello All, I have the same problem the mp4 files from my JVC GY-HM100 (720 25fps) in PP CS4 this started on my previous computer so I built a monster (i7 950 6 gb ram 3 1tb hdd high spec video card win 7 64 bit etc etc ) it was fine at first but it came back and then became much worse when I updated PP CS4 , now previously good projects exibit this problem. I have to record the audio in real time into my computer import the file into PP CS4 and marry them up . has anyone got to the bottom of this yet ? as I have spent a lot of money on a system that is virtually useless !!!
Kevin Mooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2010, 05:35 AM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alhaurin El Grande, Malaga, Spain
Posts: 15
Thanks

Thanks Hans, your little programme has done the trick I trans coded some previously bad files with it and they are now perfect . All we need now is for JVC and Adobe to get their heads together and come up with a solution !!!
Kevin Mooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2010, 10:00 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 793
Beware of that utility, I just downloaded it and AVG threw up a virus warning, and put it in the vault
__________________
Colin
Colin Rowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2010, 12:03 PM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alhaurin El Grande, Malaga, Spain
Posts: 15
Bad Sound

I scanned it with Norton 360 and have used it without problems
Kevin Mooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2010, 12:08 PM   #15
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alhaurin El Grande, Malaga, Spain
Posts: 15
Again

Sorry I forgot to mention I have put in a bug report to both Adobe and JVC as this situation is not acceptable, I will report back if I get an answer !!!
Kevin Mooney is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HM 70/100/150 Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:41 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network