Help! Burned an MPEG3 master. Authoring company says it's MPEG1! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 9th, 2007, 08:23 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northwest Oregon
Posts: 11
Help! Burned an MPEG2 master. Authoring company says it's MPEG1!

I have a master that I've sent in for authoring/ replication but the company says the format is MPEG1 not MPEG2? The software used in post production was ulead media studio 8. I'm at a complete loss as to why ulead has a MPEG2 burn option but it turns out to be MPEG1 when finished. Has anyone had this type of problem before?

Thanks in advance.

Mark
__________________
If it's petty don't sweat it...If it's sweaty, don't pet it.

Last edited by Mark Anderson; November 10th, 2007 at 02:22 AM. Reason: clarification
Mark Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2007, 02:15 AM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northwest Oregon
Posts: 11
Screen shot added

I pose this question to anyone who has a minute to please take a look at my screen shot and help me analyze what might be the conflict concening MPEG1 & MPEG2.

The post production work was done using Ulead Media Pro 8. The burn was an MPEG 2 master. I mailed it to the replication company and they say it's MPEG1 and they can't use it. The screen shot was taken from a duplicate of the master which shows MPEG2 format.

Anyone run across situations like this and find a fix. Is it incompatibility between ulead and what the replication company is using?

Mark
Attached Thumbnails
Help!  Burned an MPEG3 master.  Authoring company says it's MPEG1!-artmpeg2cap.jpg  
Mark Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2007, 04:24 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 62
Could it be that the audio is wrong?
Jim Ohair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2007, 04:18 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
I'm not familiar with Ulead but your settings look fine.

Here's how you can test what your file really is: run it through G-Spot, a small freeware you don't even have to install, just run it from any folder on your computer. See http://www.headbands.com/gspot/

On a second look... what might throw off the duplication house is your MPEG audio - that's very old school... you need AC3 audio.
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network