What do you want in an NLE? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 21st, 2003, 05:05 AM   #1
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
What do you want in an NLE?

What do you want from an editing package/ NLE?

Features etc etc etc.

Just wondered what functions most people use, what functions they hate etc etc etc.

Cheers,

Ed
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2003, 02:47 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: UK - Norfolk
Posts: 95
One feature i'd really like is a clip bank. The kind of editing i do is for short promotional videos so the clips i use are very short and very numerous and not in sequence.

Once i've filmed a subject i import all of the clip (several minutes long) and chop it up into useable pieces (two or three seconds long) in the NLE which i arrange on the timeline. This leaves me with a timeline full of tiny clips which i have to juggle around usually by having 4 or more video tracks.

To be able to store all these clip fragments inside the NLE in what i describe as a clip bank which i can then drag them from onto the timeline would be marvellous.

Regards

Nick
Nick Glenister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2003, 09:17 AM   #3
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Most of the stuff I need is in Vegas at the moment... What I seem
to be missing is a way to group together shots into a scene which
can be moved, altered as a group (I know it has a grouping function
but I want to use that to group audio & video tracks together on
multiple tracks, not multiple shots). Also a way to compare another
scene when doing color correction would be nice and a way to
copy all filters etc. over to another clip.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2003, 09:48 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
I forgot about this thread!!!

Those suggestions are good, but with everything, they would come at a price.

For instance the ability to copy the same effect onto different clips has already been done, its available on higher level editors e.g. Incite - cost 4000

I would love to see those features on lower end editors (below 1000).

A few more I have thought of:

record and edit at the same time

voice over while previewing timeline

Cheers guys, keep the suggestions rolling.

Ed
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2003, 09:50 AM   #5
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I'm pretty sure you can do voiceover in Vegas while playing the
timeline....
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2003, 10:29 AM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Rob is correct. Vegas CAN record a voice-over while playing the other tracks. It can also "For instance the ability to copy the same effect onto different clips has already been done, its available on higher level editors e.g. Incite - cost 4000" for much less than 4000 pounds or dollars. Just right-click the event with the effects you want, choose copy, select another event, and choose "Paste Event Attributes".
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2003, 10:38 AM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
OK - Had not realised that.

Just found out that Premiere Pro does voice over while playing timeline - So I can scrub that of my list!!!

Cheers,

Ed
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2003, 10:42 AM   #8
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
It does that? Damn... Vegas is getting better by the day! Too bad
I didn't know that on my Lady X episode since around all of my
73 clips had 3+ filters on them. Oh well... Thanks for explaining
that, Edward!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:12 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network