DV Filmmaker - Can you make 60i to 24p into 2:3:3:2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 28th, 2005, 04:52 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 90
DV Filmmaker - Can you make 60i to 24p into 2:3:3:2

Is it possible. I only have the demo but can you make the 24P you produce out of 60i into 2:3:3:2? Also every time I have DV Filmmaker up and running and I go to open a file in it it closes. It just started doing that after I upgraded my Quicktime to the latest version.
James A. Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2005, 06:47 PM   #2
RED Problem Solver
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,365
2:3:3:2 is advanced pulldown pattern, which is designed to be removed by the NLE by looking at some metadata in the DV stream to see which fields to remove. I don't see why you'd want to create video that way. Surely going straight to 24p would be best, as any advanced pulldown material would have had it's pulldown removed and be edited on a 24p timeline? Or am I getting the wrong end of the stick??

Graeme
Graeme Nattress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2005, 11:44 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 314
It is, in fact, one of the post-edit processing options with DVFilm Maker:

"Convert 24P/23.976P to NTSC 2:3:3:2 pulldown.

Converts a 24 or 23.976 frames/sec DV (720 x 480) Quicktime to an NTSC DV-AVI or Quicktime which can be recorded out to Firewire using Premiere, FCP, or your video card software. The 2:3:3:2 pulldown is not as smooth, but this the best way to archive a 24P final cut if you have to bring it back in later for more editing."


To view the full list of 24P options, go to:

http://www.dvfilm.com/maker/24P.htm


John
John McManimie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2005, 12:18 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 90
Should I even?

I'm sending my project out to film. I have no need to convert it to Quicktime. It's already edited. Besides why is it Quicktime doesnt look as good as AVI? Are my settings wrong. Beside that whenever I have quicktime open and I go to open a file, I get an error message and the whole program closes. Is that a glitch in the software?

P.S.

I'm using the latest version of QT.
James A. Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2005, 12:48 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 314
They recommend Quicktime version 6.5.2 on the website (http://www.dvfilm.com/maker/index.htm). I haven't tried later versions.

If you are going to film, who is doing the transfer for you? They would be the best people to tell you how they want the product delivered for transfer.

Quicktime is just a wrapper (like AVI); you should use a good codec --- and the less compression you use the better it will look.

John
John McManimie is online now   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:52 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network