Win2k Editing/Acquisition at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 9th, 2006, 07:13 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Branson, MO
Posts: 25
Win2k Editing/Acquisition

I've been using avid on winxp, but I really don't like xp (I'm an nt4 guy). I've used win2k for years and been very pleased with it, so it is by far my operating system of choice. Aside from Premiere 6.5 and Vegas, are there any worthwhile programs that I can look at for nle and/or capture over firewire? If there's something that I could use just to rip the dv then that would be a start.
I really don't like p65 and vegas, because they are so painfully slow and there is no multicam editing. I could live without the multicam, but the speed is horrible.
JJ
Joshua Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2006, 10:51 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
As long as you have the recommended system specs for the NLE you are using, your computer shouldn't be painfully slow. I suggest looking at the Videoguys' Windows XP Tips, tricks & TWEAKS and Windows XP TWEAKS / Optimization for Video Editing Systems PART II.

As for multicam editing, United Media Multicam is available for Adobe Premiere (I believe it may still support Premiere 6.5, but you would have to check with the company to make sure), and for Vegas there are at least two multicam editing scripts available: Merlin and Excalibur.

And just wondering, but what is it about Windows XP that you don't like, as opposed to Windows 2000?
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2006, 11:27 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Branson, MO
Posts: 25
I've done xp optimizations and I've even set it up to function like win2k. The problem stems from Premiere's/Vegas's having to render everything, or something like that (especially when working with mpg's). Maybe working with uncompressed avi's is better. I haven't done any of that, as I didn't have a dv camera until now.
I can't really explain why I don't like xp except to give an example...
When I got my first computer (packard bell 100mhz) it came with windows 3.11 and we received a free win95 upgrade when it came out. I enjoyed 3.11 but man I was looking forward to 95. It was released and I upgraded. Then I uninstalled it. A few weeks or months later I upgraded again. Then I uninstalled. This happened multiple times. I wanted to like win95. I really did. But I just didn't like it. Then win98 came out and I liked it. Then win98se came out and I liked it even more. Then nt4 came out and I was blown over by the stability. Then winme came out and I hated it with every fiber of my being. Then win2k came out and I found my lifelong partner. When xp came out I wanted to like it. It had all this nifty a/v support, it played games better, bleh bleh bleh... I wanted to like it. I'm forced to use it at work. I've tried it time and again at home. I was forced to use it while making a wedding dvd. But at the end of the day, I still don't like it.
If I'm forced to use xp then I am. But it will be just that; forcing.
Maybe vista will be my win98, but that won't be told until my dx9 card comes in the mail later this week.
JJ
Joshua Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2006, 09:37 AM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Vegas works fine under Win2K. However, the above link for Excalibur is incorrect. Instead, you need to look here: http://www.jetdv.com/excalibur

Also, Merlin, as mentioned, was not a multi-cam tool. The author of that tool did work on a multi-cam tool but, as far as I know, it was never completed. Here's a link to the that info: http://www.curtissoftware.com/Multi-Camera-Edit.html

Other multi-cam tools for Vegas include Ultimate S, Duo-Cam, and Infiniti-cam all by VASST.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2006, 10:22 AM   #5
Capt. Quirk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of the woods in Georgia
Posts: 3,596
Most of the newer NLE's don't just request XP, they outright demand it. I was in the same boat, and finally upgraded from 2K and Premiere 6 to XP and PP2. As far as rendering everything, I had to do that with 6 too for the most part.

And as much as you dislike Win95, it does have a few perks... It's the only OS that will properly run the good ol games like Duke Nukem and Shadow Warrior ;)
I'm working on a retro system from spare parts I've been squirreling away, mostly to work with my old Infinty 3D program, and my old games too.
__________________
www.SmokeWagonLeather.us
K. Forman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2006, 10:45 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Branson, MO
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith Forman
And as much as you dislike Win95, it does have a few perks... It's the only OS that will properly run the good ol games like Duke Nukem and Shadow Warrior ;)
I'm working on a retro system from spare parts I've been squirreling away, mostly to work with my old Infinty 3D program, and my old games too.
That is partially true. I've found that many classics are being revamped. Quake was a dos only game that is now nt compatible, complete with 32-bit graphics and quake3 lighting (joequake, fuhquake, etc...). Tomb Raider is a dos only game that is being revamped with new textures and a loader. Descent is, too.
There is also the compatibility mode. I think it's native in xp, but it is also available with win2k. It's just a little harder to activate. You can set the executable to win95 and it can work pretty well. I think I had to do that with Tomb Raider 2-5.
JJ
Joshua Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2006, 01:21 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel
Vegas works fine under Win2K. However, the above link for Excalibur is incorrect. Instead, you need to look here: http://www.jetdv.com/excalibur

Also, Merlin, as mentioned, was not a multi-cam tool. The author of that tool did work on a multi-cam tool but, as far as I know, it was never completed. Here's a link to the that info: http://www.curtissoftware.com/Multi-Camera-Edit.html
Whoops, sorry about that. I got those links from a page listing Vegas scripts.
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2006, 07:33 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 69
I am not sure, but isn't win2k going away? I have embraced winxp because I had too. I think for the power pc user that you probably are, it is difficult to get used to how many things winxp wants to do for you which means less control.

That is the big difference in functionality between win2k and winxp (I know there are many things under the hood that are different like security). Win2k is for a techie while winxp is for mom and pop at home.
Michael Hendrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2006, 07:43 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Branson, MO
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Hendrix
That is the big difference in functionality between win2k and winxp (I know there are many things under the hood that are different like security). Win2k is for a techie while winxp is for mom and pop at home.
That certainly is part of it. Here's some quick things that I detest about xp...
You can't properly do user administration from the control panel.
If you have a list of files that you are renaming in windows explorer, the files will jump to the end of the list as you rename them SOMETIMES (IE...not all the time and not none of the time).
I like to keep task manager minimized to the system tray so I can see my cpu usage. The cpu meter disappears when in the tray SOMETIMES. Usually, closing task manager and reopening it will bring it back.
If not logged into a domain, ctrl-alt-delete brings up the task manager instead of the change password/task manager/etc... box.
It takes more resources.
Bleh bleh bleh...
I know there are a lot of good points about xp, but I still don't like it. I'll use it if/when I have to (work for instance), but I wish I didn't.
JJ
Joshua Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2006, 08:28 AM   #10
Capt. Quirk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of the woods in Georgia
Posts: 3,596
One of the top things I'd love to ditch, is the auto updates crap. I am fully capable of doing updates on my own. When I turn off the auto updates, I get the message my PC might be at risk... as if letting it freely play by itself isn't a risk?
__________________
www.SmokeWagonLeather.us
K. Forman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2006, 10:27 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Branson, MO
Posts: 25
You can turn off that reporting within the security settings tab of system properties (if I remember correctly). I don't like that, either.
JJ
Joshua Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2006, 10:34 PM   #12
Capt. Quirk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of the woods in Georgia
Posts: 3,596
Thanks Joshua! One annoyance down... ;)
__________________
www.SmokeWagonLeather.us
K. Forman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2006, 10:44 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Branson, MO
Posts: 25
Well...
I got my 9800pro today ($60) so I'm off to install Vista Beta 2. Maybe I'll like it better than Xp.
JJ
Joshua Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2006, 11:21 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hillsborough, NC, USA
Posts: 968
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshua Jackson
You can't properly do user administration from the control panel.
I can get to Local Users and Groups in three clicks...

Click 1: Start Menu
Scroll to Administrative Tools->Computer Management and Click 2
Click 3: Local Users and Groups

I've attached a screenshot of my Start Menu to show how you can have all these admin-like things available (readily configured by Customize Start Menu). (Heavily compressed gif so may look a bit odd)

I used to love Win2K and wasn't overly keen to step up to XP but I have. XP *Pro* is a dream to use and configure. From a programmer's perspective, it adds some great new stuff for make writing apps easier, especially handling DV devices!

Quote:
If not logged into a domain, ctrl-alt-delete brings up the task manager instead of the change password/task manager/etc... box.
But you are just a click away from the Shutdown menu in Task Manager. I find that I use Ctrl-Alt-Del more often to get Task Manager than to get the other functions. Nevertheless, I'm sure there is a registry setting to configure the behaviour to suit.

[/QUOTE]
Attached Thumbnails
Win2k Editing/Acquisition-ye-olde-starte-menu.gif  
John Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2006, 11:25 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hillsborough, NC, USA
Posts: 968
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshua Jackson
Well...
I got my 9800pro today ($60) so I'm off to install Vista Beta 2. Maybe I'll like it better than Xp.
JJ
Hmmm...don't count on it - it is still beta. High performance stuff still needs finalizing...

And talk about resources....
John Miller is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:47 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network