After Effects at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 13th, 2007, 02:06 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 95
After Effects

I am thinking about getting After Effects. I use FCP 5. for my editing.
Will After Effects and FCP work well together?

Thanks Ron
Ron Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2007, 10:42 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Marin & Davis, CA, USA
Posts: 418
Sure. I do it all the time.

There are of a course a few details/techniques to work out, but it won't be a problem. Workflow is fine.

Any specific questions?
Daniel Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2007, 08:59 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 95
To be truthful l donít know a lot about After Effects. But before l dig into the software l wanted to get some feedback on workfiow with FCP.
When you say some details/techniques to be work out. Can you say generally what they are?

Thanks, Ron
Ron Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2007, 09:07 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
Why don't you use Motion?
Emre Safak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2007, 09:46 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Marin & Davis, CA, USA
Posts: 418
Motion is very limited and designed for people who like presets (very cool presets, but presets all the same). It is meant to integrate with FCP, though.

As for details of the workflow, don't let that scare you too much. Things like-- interlacing, anamorphic, etc.
You may have an interlaced project in FCP that you bring into AE and deinterlace. Then you'll bring that into FCP as deinterlaced.
Things like that are just details you need to work out, though.

With FCP you can export a quicktime movie and not check "self-contained". that will make a small reference to your file, rather than a large movie, and lose no quality. You can then use this in AE without any problems.

I like using them together. I haven't run into any hindering problems.

I suppose one weird thing is that my anamorphic files from FCP are output with a 1.21:1 aspect ratio, which doesn't work too nicely in AE, since that option isn't available by default. Just changing this to 1.2:1 after import fixes it, though. (This only happens with AE 6.5, not AE7 or CS3.)
That's the type of thing you'll need to figure out, but it won't be a huge problem for you or anything.
Daniel Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2007, 11:02 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 95
Thanks for the info Daniel. May need to ask some question later.

Ron
Ron Jones is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:39 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network