How to make lanc cable run a long distance? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 24th, 2013, 07:38 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 153
How to make lanc cable run a long distance?

I am not sure how long lanc cable can run but I am sure it is not long. If I want to control my cam using lanc over a distance of 30-50 meters, how can I do that? Is there any device which can convert lanc to another format for long distance traveling? If not lanc, is there any other protocol for camera control?
Kenny Shem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2013, 08:51 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Kanto Plain (関東平野), Japan
Posts: 807
Re: How to make lanc cable run a long distance?

Good question..

These guys recommend you stay under 75 meters.
Daguerro's Free Technical Library for TV & Film Camera Equipment

This web-page mentions their LANC gear will work at distances of 200feet.
LANC Remote Controller and LANC Control Extension Cables.

They sell the extension cords in 100ft lengths here:
VariZoom VZEXTL100 100' LANC Extension Cable VZ-EXT-L100 B&H
Mark Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2013, 09:23 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 153
Re: How to make lanc cable run a long distance?

Hi Mark thanks for the link and info. I don't expect lanc cable to be able to run that long. 200ft? That's pretty amazing compared to hmdi which is so short.
Kenny Shem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2013, 09:54 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 626
Re: How to make lanc cable run a long distance?

Hi Kenny,

When talking about sending video long distances, that becomes an issue as quality degrades over longer paths. HDMI in particular is good for short runs only. But think about audio cables and how far they can go - I would think LANC would be quite similar and distance would not be an issue.

Thanks

Jeff Pulera
Safe Harbor
Jeff Pulera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2013, 04:44 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Apple Valley CA
Posts: 4,866
Re: How to make lanc cable run a long distance?

As Jeff said, the LANC "signal" is pretty basic, not like a video stream, it should be able to be extended quite a bit... how far do you actually have to go?
Dave Blackhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2013, 06:54 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
Re: How to make lanc cable run a long distance?

At 50meters (164') with the right cable you'll be Ok. Make sure you anchor each end of the cable properly, tape them up and don't put any drag on the cable,
LANC connectors aren't that stable.

How are you going to monitor the picture?

Cheers.
__________________
30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.

Last edited by Allan Black; June 24th, 2013 at 07:28 PM.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2013, 10:16 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 506
Re: How to make lanc cable run a long distance?

As others have mentioned there is a world of difference between a simple LANC cable and an HDMI one. HDMI cables are pretty much the exception to the rule. I can't think of any other type calbe that has such a limited length without using a repeater.

A LANC cable is not carrying an HDMI signal just simple commands for equipment operation. You are good to go for the length you need.
D.J. Ammons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2013, 04:38 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 153
Re: How to make lanc cable run a long distance?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allan Black View Post
At 50meters (164') with the right cable you'll be Ok. Make sure you anchor each end of the cable properly, tape them up and don't put any drag on the cable,
LANC connectors aren't that stable.

How are you going to monitor the picture?

Cheers.
I am going to run hd-sdi cable to my monitor for distance monitoring. With the lancs cabling, I will be able to do focus and zooming too.
Kenny Shem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2013, 04:40 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 153
Re: How to make lanc cable run a long distance?

Quote:
Originally Posted by D.J. Ammons View Post
As others have mentioned there is a world of difference between a simple LANC cable and an HDMI one. HDMI cables are pretty much the exception to the rule. I can't think of any other type calbe that has such a limited length without using a repeater.

A LANC cable is not carrying an HDMI signal just simple commands for equipment operation. You are good to go for the length you need.
ya you are right. lanc is not as complex as hmdi cable.
Kenny Shem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2013, 04:42 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 153
Re: How to make lanc cable run a long distance?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Blackhurst View Post
As Jeff said, the LANC "signal" is pretty basic, not like a video stream, it should be able to be extended quite a bit... how far do you actually have to go?
Dave, I am looking at a length of 50 meters because that's the current length of my hd sdi cables.
Kenny Shem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2013, 04:44 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 153
Re: How to make lanc cable run a long distance?

By the way, anyone knows which consumer grade camcorder comes with LANC function? I am referring to sony handycam kind of cam.
Kenny Shem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2013, 03:46 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Apple Valley CA
Posts: 4,866
Re: How to make lanc cable run a long distance?

There is a LANC interface in ALL the higher end "consumer" Sony handycams - it's "hidden" in the A/V jack, there are adapters for the traditional 3.5mm (2.5mm?) plug. Check the specs for the model you're looking at, and see if "LANC" is listed anywhere, if it is, the camera should accept LANC signal. If it's not listed, post the specific model and hopefully it will be possible to check compatibility for you.

Zoom should be fine, not sure about "focus" control via LANC on the Sonys - there can be some differences in implementation of the various possible functions available on the LANC port - I can confirm on/off, record start/stop, photo, and zoom... beyond that, there may or may not be compatibility issues with the specific LANC controller you are planning to use.
Dave Blackhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2013, 06:14 PM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
Re: How to make lanc cable run a long distance?

Kenny, why are you planning to be 50-meters away from this camera? If it's because you'll be running another camera at say a sports event ...
then you're going to have your hands full.

If so, it maybe better to run the distant camera on auto focus and just LANC control the start/stop, zoom and framing and forget about LANC focusing.
Might make it easier and cheaper to find a LANC controller too.

Cheers.
__________________
30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2013, 12:31 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 153
Re: How to make lanc cable run a long distance?

yes, I will be running multiple cams for a seminar and sports event thus wish to have a main control area which I can control those cams. Yeah I guess auto focus will be the way to go. Not all lanc can control cam focus?
Kenny Shem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2013, 03:30 AM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
Re: How to make lanc cable run a long distance?

Whoaaa multiple cams. No offence but if you haven't got experience doing this stuff with reliable rigs, then trouble is looming big time.

For instance, how big and how long is each event, will the other cameras need LANC controllers and monitors, will you have enough storage on each camera,
will you have to change all their cards mid event, how are you covering the audio, from the PA?, how are you going to sync the footage in post,
how soon do they expect to see a finished video after each event?

For a start, I'd get some camera operators, maybe with their own gear, start calling around.

Hope this helps, other folk are reading this and you're helping them too, maybe I can pick up a few tips from your experience, hang in there mate.

Cheers.
__________________
30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.
Allan Black is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:37 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network