Recording computer screens at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 7th, 2005, 12:05 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Recording computer screens

Hello
Iím trying to edit up a software demo video. Iíve tried recording the image of my computer screen with my Sony FX1 as well as using ďSnage ItĒ screen capture/video recorder. Neither are producing the results Iím after, ideally I would like to obtain comparable resolutions and quality to the online flash demoís here (http://www.phpbb.com/support/tutorials/)

Any Ideas?
Rob Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2005, 12:48 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,195
Does it help if you change your shutter speed?
Mathieu Ghekiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2005, 01:00 PM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
yah, it helps a bit, what happens is a bit of a ghost image follows the mouse, which isn't the end of the world. Thanks for taking the time to post.

Rob
Rob Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2005, 10:00 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: ontario
Posts: 445
I have a slow connection so I didnt look at the link.Not sure what you want to do but if you need a shot of a computer sceen part frame one way is to shoot with a camera like XL1S with clear scan that allows fine control of frequency.Another way would be to green screen the screen and add video to it in post.
Jack Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2005, 11:04 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 1,241
Microsoft's Windows Media Encoder will also do screen captures in WMV format if that is an option. It may give similar results to SnagIt though.
George Ellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2005, 11:46 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
Camtasia studio 3 might do it.
Richard Alvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2005, 02:45 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Albany NY
Posts: 311
Have you tried using a LCD monitor for the demo? They do not have the same problems with flicker and scan lines that CRT monitors do.
Mike Cavanaugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2005, 12:17 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 255
The software companies that I've seen (think Autodesk and McGraw-Hill) capture their screens with software and the end up as bloated avi files. Need a pretty speedy box though. I use Fraps to capture FPS game time and the quality is excellent.
Dennis Khaye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2005, 12:38 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 192
The PHPBB demo is a flash movie - try BB Flashback for recording screen demos at http://www.bbsoftware.co.uk/bbflashback.aspx

I've used it for software demo CD-ROM's and it works well.

Hope this helps
Graham Risdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2005, 04:33 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Posts: 137
Camtasia will work

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Parker
Hello
Iíve tried recording the image of my computer screen with my Sony FX1 as well as using ďSnage ItĒ screen capture/video recorder. Neither are producing the results Iím after, ideally I would like to obtain comparable resolutions and quality to the online flash demoís here (http://www.phpbb.com/support/tutorials/)

Any Ideas?
I use it a lot and it works great:
http://www.techsmith.com/products/studio/default.asp
Tim Ribich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2005, 09:17 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 32
Can you record from an LCD to a camcorder?

I am also interested in recording activity on the computer screen for a client and am trying to find a better way. My challenges are:

1) The software is being demonstrated on my client's computer so I'd rather not install video capture software on their system. I only have macs and the software is pc only.

2) I have a cheap scan converter, that I have hooked up to the computer in the past and then recorded onto miniDV with my camcorder. However, I am not thrilled with the quality.

The only possible solution I have come up with so far is using a LCD TV with a RGB video out that is hooked up to my camcorder (Viewsonic makes one).

The question is, is this possible and will there be any refresh or flicker issues? Has anyone tried it or do you have a better solution? Thanks in advance.
Amy May is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2005, 09:52 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amy May
I am also interested in recording activity on the computer screen for a client and am trying to find a better way. My challenges are:

1) The software is being demonstrated on my client's computer so I'd rather not install video capture software on their system. I only have macs and the software is pc only.

2) I have a cheap scan converter, that I have hooked up to the computer in the past and then recorded onto miniDV with my camcorder. However, I am not thrilled with the quality.

The only possible solution I have come up with so far is using a LCD TV with a RGB video out that is hooked up to my camcorder (Viewsonic makes one).

The question is, is this possible and will there be any refresh or flicker issues? Has anyone tried it or do you have a better solution? Thanks in advance.
Check your camera's manual for something called "ClearScan" or something similar. It's a feature some cameras have that helps sync the camera's scan to a monitor's scan to get rid of the rolling strobe bar that otherwise results. You haven't said what camera you have so there's no way to know if your's has that feature or not.
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2005, 07:44 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve House
Check your camera's manual for something called "ClearScan" or something similar. It's a feature some cameras have that helps sync the camera's scan to a monitor's scan to get rid of the rolling strobe bar that otherwise results. You haven't said what camera you have so there's no way to know if your's has that feature or not.
I'm using a Panasonic DVX-100. Thanks, will see if that function exists.
Amy May is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2005, 08:05 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 192
Shooting Computer monitors

If you're trying to shoot computer screens to video (as opposed to capturing a flash movie for computer display) there are a few choices:-

1. Get a good scan converter and match the output resolution of the computer to the scan converters best setting (usually lower res is better for SD as the scan converter doesn#t have to srop so many lines)
Result - OK, depends on scan converter

2. Shoot an LCD monitor - doesn't seem to flicker much, but needs to be carefully lit. Again the lower the res, the better the result usually...

3. Try the "PD150 trick". This involves matching the shutter speed to the scan rate. Don't know whether it would work on your Panasonic. A BBC PD150 training course at http://www.bbctraining.com/onlineCou...=5160&cat=2797 explains this well (about page 10 of the PDF) It works but takes a while to master!

Hope this helps
Graham Risdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2005, 03:50 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 32
Thanks Graham, that is a good source for info. I tried videotaping the LCD screen of my iBook and the results were pretty good so I think I'll go the LCD monitor route. I let you know how it turns out even though the filming won't likely be for a few weeks. Thanks for all the ideas.
Amy May is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:43 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network