Blue screen back ground at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 16th, 2006, 01:16 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 95
Blue screen back ground

I am a rookie at filming with Blue/Green screens. I have a up coming job with 2 people riding bicycles and l will be putting in footage of difference scenes behind them using FCPHD. So l will need to use Blue screen. One of my question is, when l bring clips into FCPHD will they be clear in the background, blue? When l add another clip on layer above will that clip be seen, or do l need to delete blue Background. If l need to delete BG is that a simple task in FCPHD.

Hope this makes since. Any suggestions appreciated.

regards Ron
Ron Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2006, 07:29 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 46
You run a blue/green screen filter on the background (bottom) clip
Brandon Whiteside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2006, 08:27 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Posts: 548
It's not automatic.
Best bet is probably to get either Conduit or DVMatt Pro for FCP.
These are very powerful tools for compositing blue or green screen shots directly inside Final Cut.

Coduit is a bit more powerful and flexible, with a nodal (shake-like) interface, but it's more difficult to learn. DVMatt Pro is very quick and easy to use for creating clean composites, but lacks some of the extra built in features of Conduit.

Both are available from dvGarage: http://www.dvgarage.com/
__________________
Nick Jushchyshyn Matchmoving, Compositing, TD
imdb
Nick Jushchyshyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2006, 09:44 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 95
Blue Screen

Thanks Nick, Is this something l can handle in FCPHD? And will it work as well as DVMALL Pro.

Ron
Ron Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2006, 10:44 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Posts: 548
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Jones
Thanks Nick, Is this something l can handle in FCPHD? And will it work as well as DVMALL Pro.

Ron
What's DVMALL Pro? .... or is that a typo for DVMatt Pro?

You'll probably have to send an email to the guys at dvGarage to see if Conduit works on anything other than the latest version of FCP.

If you're very new to this sort of compositing, DVMatt is probably the better way to go. It's much easier to get comfortable with and works very well.
__________________
Nick Jushchyshyn Matchmoving, Compositing, TD
imdb
Nick Jushchyshyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2006, 11:05 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 95
blue screen

Typo, l was in the middle of typing ( l am at a Honda dealer service ) when l found out l have a $500+ bill and a 5 hour wait.
Ron Jones is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:24 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network