Panasonic AG-HMC 150 discussion - Page 5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic AVCCAM Camcorders

Panasonic AVCCAM Camcorders
AVCHD for pro applications: AG-AC160, AC130 and other AVCCAM gear.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 11th, 2008, 05:15 PM   #61
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ocean Springs, MS
Posts: 211
Fat32

I read in the manual that the cards record to fat32 format. Does this format only record in 2gb segments or can I record a full 3 hr segment on one 16gb card without breaks?

Jon Schwartz
CA Video Productions

PS: I am super excited about the time code synch feature. What a great feature for multicam events.
Jonathan Schwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2008, 09:12 PM   #62
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Georgia
Posts: 65
Focus and Zoom

Does anyone know if you can zoom and focus at the same time? I know it sounds pretty stupid but Canon had that big problem with their XL series (not HD cams). You had to buy the pro lense at $1400 to get around that "stock lense" issue. I have no experience with Panasonic cameras at all, which is why I'm asking. I'm very interested in using this model to replace my Canons. Thanks.

-Michael
__________________
May the best days of your past be the worst day of your future.
Michael W. Niece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2008, 09:38 PM   #63
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: ny,ny
Posts: 52
Must say, although I realize most are receiving their's in the mail, it is a little surprising not hearing from anyone regarding the 150. It having been on the shelf for over 12 hours.
Claude Isbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2008, 11:07 PM   #64
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 41
Images: 2
Everyone is probably out shooting em'

I know I would be!
__________________
Darren Shroeger | http://hdmuse.com | Traverse City, Michigan
Darren Shroeger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2008, 11:38 PM   #65
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 41
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan Schwartz View Post
I read in the manual that the cards record to fat32 format. Does this format only record in 2gb segments or can I record a full 3 hr segment on one 16gb card without breaks?

Jon Schwartz
CA Video Productions

PS: I am super excited about the time code synch feature. What a great feature for multicam events.
At NAB I heard Barry Green say that you could shoot 12 hours of one continuous take so it must span seamlessly like the HPX170. The HPX and the HMC are very similar we are finding.
__________________
Darren Shroeger | http://hdmuse.com | Traverse City, Michigan
Darren Shroeger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2008, 09:53 AM   #66
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 41
Images: 2
I received mine this morning!

I shot some unboxing photos for those interested.
__________________
Darren Shroeger | http://hdmuse.com | Traverse City, Michigan
Darren Shroeger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2008, 01:21 PM   #67
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 789
Congrats Darren. It looks pretty small and lightweight. Look forward to any comments about the camera's functionality from you.

Cheers.
__________________
David Parks: DP/Editor: Jacobs Aerospace at NASA Johnson Space Center
https://www.youtube.com/user/JacobsESCG
David Parks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2008, 01:27 PM   #68
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 162
Nice! I like the Crossziel mattebox and rails.
Stefan Immler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2008, 02:35 PM   #69
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LA, California
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan Schwartz View Post
I read in the manual that the cards record to fat32 format. Does this format only record in 2gb segments or can I record a full 3 hr segment on one 16gb card without breaks?

Jon Schwartz
CA Video Productions

PS: I am super excited about the time code synch feature. What a great feature for multicam events.
My understanding is that FAT 32 allows up to a 4GB file. The reason for FAT 32 is that this is the common format for both MACs & PCs. If you try to record beyond 4GB (about 22 - 23 minutes), the camera keeps recording, but it's put on a second file. The recording does not have a break in that you do not drop anything, but the video recording does switch to a second file.


Bob Diaz
Bob Diaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2008, 08:41 AM   #70
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 41
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan Immler View Post
Nice! I like the Crossziel mattebox and rails.
Thanks!!

For those interested, I have shot some test footage in all the framerates and posted it online. It's the first chance to download some production model HMC150 footage onto your own system to assess and play around with.

http://hdmuse.com/HMC150_Test_Footage_Sept_25_2008.zip is the PRIVATE folder right off the card (inside another folder then .zipped)
http://hdmuse.com/HMC150_Test_Footage_Sept_25_2008.rtf is a log of all 32 clips with framerate and duration

Have fun with it everyone!!

-Darren
__________________
Darren Shroeger | http://hdmuse.com | Traverse City, Michigan
Darren Shroeger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2008, 10:11 AM   #71
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Parks View Post
Congrats Darren. It looks pretty small and lightweight. Look forward to any comments about the camera's functionality from you.

Cheers.
Im going to write up a very basic first impressions comparison to the XH-A1 after I learn the control features a little more.

Darren, which camera are you coming from?
__________________
Panasonic HMC150/Canon A1/JVC HD1/Sony Vegas 8.0c
Jeff Kellam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2008, 10:38 AM   #72
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 41
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Kellam View Post
Im going to write up a very basic first impressions comparison to the XH-A1 after I learn the control features a little more.

Darren, which camera are you coming from?
I was using a Sony DSR500WS for most of my work. I also used Z1U/V1U's so coming from all Sonys is a real change. Like you, I need to learn the controls on this camera! I shot all the test footage yesterday thinking this camera is not very responsive to exposure adjustment. When I got home I discovered the AUTO/MANUAL switch was still on AUTO. Doh! Footage looked fine though, and as a result I did learn that the HMC does allow you to "fine tune" while still remaining in AUTO. Download the footage and see for yourself!

-Darren
__________________
Darren Shroeger | http://hdmuse.com | Traverse City, Michigan
Darren Shroeger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2008, 10:42 PM   #73
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 2,230
Darren,

Since you are coming from a DSR-500, how does the servo motor feel in the lens?

Is it smooth?

Does the transition from not moving to a slow creep happen easily or is it jumpy?

Thanks
Tim Polster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2008, 12:09 AM   #74
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 41
Images: 2
Well it sure isn't the Canon 2/3" lens I'm used to but then again, I think that lens alone was around $8,000. The HMC150's servo creep is too fast in my opinion, from stop to slowest creep seems abrupt. The manual zoom has a slight "bind" to it which makes snap zooms, well, not as snappy.

Again, I'm comparing it to a $8,000 lens. When we remember that this lens is included with an amazing $3500 camera then all my criticisms start to fade away and mean very little! But you did ask....

-Darren
__________________
Darren Shroeger | http://hdmuse.com | Traverse City, Michigan
Darren Shroeger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2008, 12:10 PM   #75
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 306
On my final cut 6.03, some of the clips you posted started with a few glitched frames -- is that my system's fault or the camera's? Others I can't ingest at all... I see nothing but green; which is to be expected, I guess with some of the frame rates. Most are ok in final cut.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Shroeger View Post
Thanks!!

For those interested, I have shot some test footage in all the framerates and posted it online. It's the first chance to download some production model HMC150 footage onto your own system to assess and play around with.

http://hdmuse.com/HMC150_Test_Footage_Sept_25_2008.zip is the PRIVATE folder right off the card (inside another folder then .zipped)
http://hdmuse.com/HMC150_Test_Footage_Sept_25_2008.rtf is a log of all 32 clips with framerate and duration

Have fun with it everyone!!

-Darren
Chuck Fadely is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic AVCCAM Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:42 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network