editing C4K movs from GH4 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series

Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series
4K and AVCHD on a Micro Four Thirds system camera with interchangeable lenses.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 16th, 2015, 09:17 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Uruguay
Posts: 57
editing C4K movs from GH4

Hi,
been shooting C4K 4096x2160, 100M, 24p, LPCM movs with a GH4. Been quite out of touch with recent digital evolution, so excuse the ignorance. Trying to get back on track...

1. My mid2011 MacMini can't handle this format properly. Since a Mini is very suited for my general situation and needs, I was wondering if a current Mini could play (and edit?) C4K properly. For a while, I actually only need to play and check footage. Of course it would be nice to be able to start editing although Mac Pro or Mac Book Pro are out of the question now. Any such thing as a Linux Mini-like box that works?

2. That said, what recommendations do you have as far as software for editing C4K: FCX? PremierePro? The least conversions, the better. No color correction, just basic cut editing, feature lengths.

3. What external Storage is needed to play C4K properly? Again, for a while I only need to check footage and keep it safe. If cheap USB 3.0 externals would suffice, I'd rather go with them and wait until I need fast Thunderbolt to edit online.

Last edited by Federico Martini Crotti; February 16th, 2015 at 09:54 AM.
Federico Martini Crotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2015, 01:57 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,704
Re: editing C4K movs from GH4

No current Mac Mini is worth having for video editing. Their guts are only slightly better than a MacBook Air. You need a MacBook Pro or the previous generation iMac or the current 5K iMac.

Or a Mac Pro.
Gary Huff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2015, 02:44 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 65
Re: editing C4K movs from GH4

or a simple run of the mill i7 PC with Sony Vegas Movie Studio 13 :)
Pete Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2015, 02:46 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,704
Re: editing C4K movs from GH4

QuickTime on a Windows platform is quite poor, so you'd need to be able to record MP4 4K files instead if that doesn't have any issues with current or future workflows (i.e. Resolve does not currently bring in LPCM audio from 4K in the MP4 container).
Gary Huff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2015, 09:14 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 65
Re: editing C4K movs from GH4

MS13 actually does edit in C4K mov just fine, but it is quite clunky. MP4 seems to be quite a bit easier to play back.

In any case a $800 PC with some $79 software can do in a pinch if the poison seed is letting you down :)

Cheers,
Pete
Pete Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2015, 09:33 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Uruguay
Posts: 57
Re: editing C4K movs from GH4

Thank you for your answers. Aren't some people running OSX in PCs nowadays?
Federico Martini Crotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2015, 10:54 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Exit28, NY
Posts: 64
Re: editing C4K movs from GH4

I debated the MacMini for a month and did a ton of research too...buy something with a real video card, iMac, MacPro, Macbook Pro, or build a PC. I ended up purchasing a new iMac.
__________________
Bo Smith | Camera Operator / Cinematographer
web | http://BoSmith.tv
Bo Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2015, 06:36 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Uruguay
Posts: 57
Re: editing C4K movs from GH4

I have the "PC=problems" notion (in the form of little warning windows popping insanely to let you know that there's no way out) but, before having to spend in yet another expensive Mac, I always give it a thought, because things can change. I'm wondering if a well built PC, exclusively dedicated to Vegas or Premiere and nothing else, not even connected to the www, could run without problems these days.
Federico Martini Crotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2015, 06:58 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,064
Re: editing C4K movs from GH4

Quote:
I'm wondering if a well built PC, exclusively dedicated to Vegas or Premiere and nothing else, not even connected to the www, could run without problems these days.
Why would you wonder? With my current 2 year old pc configuration and installed software it's rock solid editing and colour correcting 4K footage from a GH4 in realtime, no conversion needed, just native editing in Edius without any issues.

It doesn't matter if you work on a mac or a pc, if you choose the right tools for the right job you shouldn't have a problem.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2015, 08:47 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chislehurst, London
Posts: 1,724
Re: editing C4K movs from GH4

I think the debate regarding PC v Mac ran its course several years ago. Use the equipment you have, Photoshop, Premiere, After Effects and many more applications run just the same regardless of which OS you are using.
__________________
Eyes are a deaf manís ears. Ears are a blind manís eyes
Vincent Oliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2015, 09:09 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,064
Re: editing C4K movs from GH4

Yes, I also think we are way past the "I"m a mac and I"m a pc" age, there is a reason Apple stopped doing these funny ads once windows 7 came out which is according to me the most stable OS microsoft ever made, windows 8 is still as good but with improvements but has annoyed many users, including me, with it's "I don't know which OS I want to be" approach. You can hide the tablet oriented interface entirely but it should not be there in the first place when you use it on a desktop. As I have heard windows 10 would make it a better experience.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2015, 01:51 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 623
Re: editing C4K movs from GH4

Actually Apple dropped those ads when they decided to focus primarily on mobile devices.
Patrick Janka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2015, 03:00 PM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,064
Re: editing C4K movs from GH4

well, at least they knew when it was time to stop :)
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2015, 10:56 AM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Re: editing C4K movs from GH4

A MacMini is probably a losing proposition if you intend to work with these files in the recorded format. Once you enter 4K territory you have minimum requirements in either Mac or PC to get decent performance. Usually it's the video card that can't handle the data compression that 4K needs for playback. However if you are transcoding to ProRes a recent Mini might squeak by, but I would check first.

There are several iMacs, older models included, that can work 4K without a hitch as long as you are working a single stream on a timeline. Multicam 4K probably needs top line iMacs, newer or older.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2015, 09:58 AM   #15
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Re: editing C4K movs from GH4

I use a Mac Pro at work, with Premiere Pro CS6. At home I switched to a PC and in my searching discovered that gaming computers have lots of power and fast graphics cards and are cheaper. I got a Toshiba Qosmio 17.5" laptop. That screen serves as my bin monitor and a 24" Asus as my edit screen. I tried Sony Vegas Pro but it was just way too different and there was one major thing it wouldn't do. I grew up on Avid, used FCP for several years, then Premiere Pro. All are easy to learn, but Vegas was pretty far out for me.

So because I needed to finish a documentary quickly, I crossgraded to Grass Valley Edius. I learned it in a day and am fairly happy with it. The cool thing is that it'll handle anything you put in the timeline. A friend sent me some Black Magic 4K ProRes shots which I dropped into a 1080p timeline along with AVCHD and .mov files and all was well.

I've also been looking at the free Lite version of DaVinci Resolve from Black Magic. You get the whole package, including the great color grading, for free, and the free version does everything I need. It does not handle AVCHD files at all, so those would require transcoding.

You might also want to look at Lightworks (lwks.com). They now have a Mac version. It's cheap, you can try it for free, and it looks like a very nice and intuitive interface. Good color grading and audio tools as well. Works on PC, Linux and Mac. You can rent it monthly or buy it for around $400. The big thing it's lacking is a motion stabilizer.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:18 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network