30PN- whoops!! need help syncing at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders
All AG-HPX and AJ-PX Series camcorders and P2 / P2HD hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 21st, 2006, 09:59 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 16
30PN- whoops!! need help syncing

We accidentally recorded in 30p NATIVE. We recorded the audio separately at 30fps, but cannot sync them. Does anyone know how to fix???
Thanks!
__________________
www.joesgrille.com
Music Video Production, CD/DVD
Manufacturing and Syndicated
College Radio Programming
Remember, Let's all be independent
together tm
Wendy Rubin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2006, 11:44 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 355
You mean like the audio was recorded on a audio recorder and not the HVX??
The HVX can record very good audio....
But if it was all 30p???
Please explain
__________________
Mike Schrengohst
dvd.pro@verizon.net
Mike Schrengohst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2006, 12:29 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 16
different speeds or interpolation?

It is not possible to record audio when the camera is in the 30pn mode to the P2 cards. We had a separate audio recorder and recorded it at 30fps. When we sync in FCP, it loses lock in about 5 seconds. Something weird is going on...

We called panasonic and their suggestion was to post here.
__________________
www.joesgrille.com
Music Video Production, CD/DVD
Manufacturing and Syndicated
College Radio Programming
Remember, Let's all be independent
together tm
Wendy Rubin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2006, 01:29 AM   #4
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
It's certainly possible to record audio when shooting 720/30pN. That's no problem at all. The only time it doesn't record audio is if you're overcranking or undercranking. But if you're shooting 720/30pN at 30fps, it recorded audio on the cards.

Second, why wouldn't it sync? Audio doesn't have a "frame rate", and both the video and audio should be crystal-controlled, so as long as you have a point of reference for the start of the shot it should stay in sync, at least for a long time...
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2006, 03:13 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 77
Is your timeline at 30PN as well? If your timeline is set to 24PN and you put in a 30PN clip, that might account for the difference.
Jason Boyce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2006, 03:23 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 16
P2 info

This is the info off the card:
vformat: dv100_720/59.94p
frame rate:29.97
rec rate: 24f

The menu says: rec format: 720p/30p
rec mode: dvcpro50

Not sure exactly what what happened when we recorded it. When we called Panasonic, they said that it was at 30pnative. Regardless, we can't get the sound to sync. I just did a new sequence with the timeline with the set-up at 720/30p and still have the sync issue. It doesn't even last 1 1/2 seconds before it seems to go completely out. The audio is going at a much slower rate than the video. All suggestions are welcome :)

Thanks
__________________
www.joesgrille.com
Music Video Production, CD/DVD
Manufacturing and Syndicated
College Radio Programming
Remember, Let's all be independent
together tm

Last edited by Wendy Rubin; September 22nd, 2006 at 04:44 AM.
Wendy Rubin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2006, 11:22 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 355
Make sure you sample rates are at 48K, what did you record the audio with?
__________________
Mike Schrengohst
dvd.pro@verizon.net
Mike Schrengohst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 12:50 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 16
still cannot sync

recorded audio on a hard disc audio recorder. Someone suggested that the issue may have to do with Metadata. Don't know what that is...?
__________________
www.joesgrille.com
Music Video Production, CD/DVD
Manufacturing and Syndicated
College Radio Programming
Remember, Let's all be independent
together tm
Wendy Rubin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 02:20 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 355
How are you dumping the audio into your system??
What is the sample rate??
__________________
Mike Schrengohst
dvd.pro@verizon.net
Mike Schrengohst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 02:23 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 16
It was just copied from the audio hard drive to my external drive. It was originally recorded as a WAV file. Then just imported into FCP.
__________________
www.joesgrille.com
Music Video Production, CD/DVD
Manufacturing and Syndicated
College Radio Programming
Remember, Let's all be independent
together tm
Wendy Rubin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 02:36 PM   #11
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
So Rec Rate says 24P?

Sounds like you overcranked 30fps while recording in 24p mode. That wouldn't be 30pn mode; that's why nothing is syncing. In other words, you shot 124% slow motion. It's so slight it doesn't look much like slow motion, though.

If you set the files to play back at the frame rate they were shot at, then your files become "real time" then. If you're on a Mac, you can use Cinema Tools to conform these files to 29.97.

Of course I could be diagnosing this wrong, but...
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 02:39 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 16
Thanks-I'll give it a shot now!
__________________
www.joesgrille.com
Music Video Production, CD/DVD
Manufacturing and Syndicated
College Radio Programming
Remember, Let's all be independent
together tm
Wendy Rubin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 03:14 PM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 16
In cinema tools, it says the frame rate is 29.97. Not sure what to do...
__________________
www.joesgrille.com
Music Video Production, CD/DVD
Manufacturing and Syndicated
College Radio Programming
Remember, Let's all be independent
together tm
Wendy Rubin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2006, 07:48 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 355
Duplicate that clip and then conform it to 23.98.....
It may also need Reverse Tele-cine....
Don't perform these procedures on your original clip.
Then put your conformed clip in a 720 24p sequence...
drop you audio in and see where you are at....
If that is not the problem duplcate your audio...
then try stretching it our 124% or shrinking it by 80%...
Kinda like skating on marbles???
__________________
Mike Schrengohst
dvd.pro@verizon.net
Mike Schrengohst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2006, 12:03 PM   #15
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 16
Right on! That worked. Didn't need the rev telecine. I do have to render the conformed clip when I place it in the 24p sequence. Can you tell me what we did wrong when we shot it?
Thanks!!!!
Wendy
__________________
www.joesgrille.com
Music Video Production, CD/DVD
Manufacturing and Syndicated
College Radio Programming
Remember, Let's all be independent
together tm
Wendy Rubin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:00 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network